2012-07-12 / Sports

Path Valley Speedway

By Rob Keller

Monday night, July 2, was stop Number 3 for the PA 600cc Micro Sprint Speedweek, and it was held at Path Valley Speedway. The 48 600cc Micro Sprint drivers signed in to race and the double-heats/passing points provided plenty of action for the fans in attendance.

The 270cc Micro Sprints was the first feature of the evening. Chad Myers led all 20 laps for the win. Justin Harrington was a few car lengths back in second, with Cory Myers third, Levi Peck fourth and Brandon Haw-kins fifth.

Teammates Mike Dicely and Ryan Greth led the 24- car field of 600cc Micro Sprints to the green flag. Dicely grabbed the lead at the start, with Greth a car length or two behind. The two leaders had pulled away from Shane Lewis running in third. Just before the halfway point, Ryan Greth made contact with the backstretch wall, bringing him to a stop and ending his night. After that Dicely had things well under control, even while working through lapped traffic. At the finish Dicely led Lewis by about 10 car lengths to claim the win. Charlie Brown, Mike Rutherford and Scott Sawyer rounded out the top five.

Two rounds of heats meant 10 heat races. The winners included Tanner Hunsicker, Brock Zearfoss, Dwayne Gutshall, Mike Dicely, Kameron Morral, Charlie Brown, Ryan Greth, Jerry Schott, Timmie Barrick, and Jim Radney. Sammy Lamothe won the C-Main and Jimmy Glenn captured the B-Main win.

The Sidewinder Sprint feature was not decided until well after the checkered flag waved. Reed Salony started on the pole and led all 25 laps. Unfortunately, after the victory lane photos were taken, Salony went to the scales but then failed to go to the technical inspection area and was disqualified. That gave the win to Seth Kearchner, who had held off Donnie Hendershot in a close duel the final half of the race. Mike Zielonis was credited for third, Zach Overmiller fourth and Keith Ford fifth.

July 2 results

270cc Micro Sprint: 1. Chad Myers (Fayetteville), 2. Justin Harrington, 3. Cory Myers, 4. Levi Peck, 5. Brandon Hawkins, 6. Dana Lamothe, 7. Adam Warner, 8. Dave Hawkins, 9. Scott Hawkins, 10. Dave Hollar, 11. Brian Marriott, 12. Chad Thomas.

600cc Micro Sprint: 1. Mike Dicely (Lewistown), 2. Shane Lewis, 3. Charlie Brown, 4. Mike Rutherford, 5. Scott Sawyer, 6. Brock Zearfoss, 7. Joe Miller, 8. Timmie Barrick, 9. Kameron Morral, 10. Richie Hartman, 11. Tyler DeVault, 12. Kenny Brewer, 13. Tyler Walker, 14. Joe Kay, 15. Jimmy Brookens, 16. Jimmy Glenn, 17. A.J. Michael, 18 Jerry Schott, 19. Geoff Gill, 20. Jim Radney, 21. Dwayne Gutshall, 22. Ryan Greth, 23. Jared Esh.

Sidewinder Sprint: 1. Seth Kearchner (Frederick), 2. Donnie Hendershot, 3. Mike Zielonis, 4. Zach Overmiller, 5. Keith Ford, 6. Adam Meier, 7. Chris Crull, 8. Jason Stahl, 9. Ben Murphy, 10. Rohan Beasley.

Return to top