2012-07-05 / Entertainment

New Enterprise Rural Electric Coop Holds Annual Meeting

The 74th annual meeting of New Enterprise Rural Electric Cooperative was held at Northern Bedford High School June 12, 2012. New Enterprise Rural Electric has 3,500 accounts in portions of Bedford, Fulton and Huntingdon counties with three substations and nearly 400 miles of line.

There are seven directors that equally represent the service territory of the system. The general manager/ CEO of the cooperative, Rick L. Eichelberger, gave a report on the condition of the cooperative. The board president, Leroy D. Walls of Saxton, reported on some of the activities during the past year.

Entertainment during a portion of the evening was provided by The Jacobs Brothers.

Prior to the business meeting, 652 family style turkey dinners were served by the Northern Bedford High School Band members and parents. A total of 305 members of the cooperative registered at the meeting.

Leroy Walls from Saxton was re-elected for a threeyear term by the members of the cooperative.

General manager/CEO Rick L. Eichelberger discussed the allocation and retirement of capital credits, a pharmacy/medical services discount card for members, the financial statements and the available storm reserve.

A smart meter deployment program has been underway for the past 5 years that has more than 90 percent of the meters changed out. The investment has cut operational costs throughout the day-to-day operations.

The membership was reminded that the cooperative is not interested in maximizing sales, instead it is about maximizing member satisfaction. The best way to do that is to remain dedicated to the core mission that has served well for nearly 75 years: safe, reliable and affordable electricity for the members.

The following were recognized for years of service: Director John Dively of New Enterprise for 15 years of service.

The board president, Leroy D. Walls, discussed how 2012 has been declared the International Year of Cooperatives with 29,200 coops of all kinds across America with more than 1 billion co-op members around the world sharing a common set of principles and values, including self-help and democracy.

Also discussed was how New Enterprise Rural Electric members have voluntarily rounded their monthly bills up to the next highest dollar each month and donated more than $30,000 to member families in need of assistance during a crisis.

A reorganizational board meeting was held June 21, 2012, with the following officers being appointed: president – Leroy D. Walls of Saxton; vice president – David A. Bequeath of Everett; secretary – John R. Dively of New Enterprise; assistant secretary – Robert L. Guyer of Woodbury; and treasurer – Dean L. Brant of Harrisonville.

Return to top