2012-06-28 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Chambersburg racer Rusty Sites led flag to flag to capture his second career 25- lap Late Model feature Saturday night at Hagerstown Speedway.

Sites drew the pole position for the feature and never looked back in the nonstop event, with Jerry Bard finishing in the runner-up spot. Roy Deese Jr. came home third over Alan Sagi and Darryl Hills. Completing the top 10 were Brian Booze, Kenny Moreland, Nick Dickson, Frankie Plessinger and Steve Axtell Jr. Marvin Winters was 11th.

Kevin Boyer won the Pure Stock feature over Tony Catlett and Steve Lowery, while Kenny Thomas picked up the Hobby Stock win over William Crook and Gary Cekovich.

Brian Montieth ended his string of bad luck with a Friday night 410 Sprint car win at Williams Grove Speedway over Ryan Smith, Lance Dewease, Cory Haas and Fred Rahmer.

Matt Mountz won a career first 358 Sprint car feature over Dale Hammaker, Kevin Nouse, Ryan Wilson and Nate Hammaker.

Greg Hodnett was back in winning form Saturday night at Port Royal Speedway. Hodnett’s sixth Port Royal win of the year and ninth overall came in the 25- lap 410 Sprint car feature.

Daryn Pittman, Tyler Walker, Sheldon Haudenschild and Ryan Taylor were the top-five finishers, with Mike Wagner finishing ninth.

Mike Lupfer grabbed the lead on the fifth lap of the 20- lap Late Model feature and drove to his third career feature win over Brett Schadel, Scott Haus, Andy Haus and Chad Hollenbeck.

Kody Lehman scored the PASS 305 Sprint car feature win for his first- ever Port Royal win over Ryan Lynn, Nathan Gramely, Mark Watkins and Tyler Bear. Logan Wagner finished sixth and Mike Wagner II was 18th.

Danny Dietrich won for the fifth time in Lincoln Speedway 410 Sprint car action Saturday night in a convincing win over Jim Siegel, Fred Rahmer, Brian Montieth and Bill Dietrich.

Ryan Wilson won a career first 358 Sprint car feature at Lincoln over Austin Hogue, Dale Hammaker, Todd Rittenhouse

Jr. and Tim Wagaman.

Pat Cannon ended a twomonth winless spell by coming home with the Saturday night 25-lap 358 Sprint car feature win at Selinsgrove Speedway. Cannon won over Nyle Berkes, Mark Smith, TJ Stutts and Jason Shultz.

Dylan Yoder raced to his third win of the season in the 25-lap Late Model main over Jeff Rine, Steve Campbell, Donnie Schick and Meade Hahn.

Steve Owings came from his seventh starting spot to take his third win of the season in Friday night’s 25-lap 358 Sprint car main at Trail- Way Speedway. He scored the win over Mike Bittinger, Trevor Little, Jeff Rohrbaugh and Keith Prutzman.

Gene Knaub won the 25- lap 358 Late Model feature over Travis Mease, Bobby Beard, Grant Adams and Steve Billet.

Bobby Hockenberry won the Super Sportsman feature in the Saturday Night Series event at Williams Grove Speedway over Rick Barr, Leroy Martin, Jay Fannasy and Steve Wilbur.

Bobby Beard won the 358 Late Model feature at the Grove over Gene Knaub, Wes Alleman, Jake Jones and Jared Miller.

DJ Troutman raced to his first win of the season Friday at Bedford Speedway. Troutman’s 25-lap late model win came over Jeff Rine, Chuck Clise, Greg Fetters and Jack Pencil.

Josh Berrier won for a second time in Bedford 358 Late Model action over Mike Altobelli, Jr., Robbie Black, Matt Howsare and Tim Smith, Jr.

Carl Billet won his third 358 Late Model main Saturday at Susquehanna Speedway Park over Billy Wampler, Justin Ehrhart, Bob Minnich and Randy Christine Jr.

Stevie Smith captured his 200th career 410 Sprint car feature win in Saturday night’s All-Star Circuit of Champions Ohio Speedweek race at Waynesfield Raceway Park. It was also the first win of the year for Smith and the CL Motorsports team.

The 22nd annual Pennsylvania Sprint 410 Speedweek is set to kick off this weekend and will continue through Sunday, July 8. Speedweek begins Saturday at Lincoln then heads to Big Diamond on Sunday. Monday is an off night before Grandview resumes action next Tuesday, followed by a July 4 date at Hagerstown Speedway then two straight nights at Williams Grove on Thursday and Friday, followed by Saturday at Port Royal and concluding at Selinsgrove next weekend. Fred Rahmer is the defending champion.

E-mail reaches me at bvores@comcast.net.

Return to top