2012-06-21 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Tim McCreadie’s hot streak continued Saturday night as the World of Outlaw Late Models invaded Hagers-town Speedway.

McCreadie, who recently won Appalachian Mountain Speedweek, took the lead on the 21st lap and drove to his second WoO win of the year in the 50-lap event.

Jamie Lathroum finished in the runner-up spot over Gary Stuhler, Gregg Satterlee and Austin Hubbard. Marvin Winters made the show and finished 24th. Frankie Plessinger did not qualify.

Brent Marks came out on top of a thrilling 25-lap 410 Sprint car main Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway. His first Grove win of the year came over Cory Haas, Danny Dietrich, Greg Hodnett and Fred Rahmer.

Adrian Shaffer inherited the lead on the final lap when Dale Hammaker ran out of fuel and turned it into his first 20-lap 358 Sprint car win of the season over Pat Cannon, Eric Tomecek, Mark Smith and Nate Hammaker.

Brian Montieth was back to his winning ways Saturday night at Lincoln Speedway as he won the 25-lap Daryl Gohn/Glenn Gohn Memorial for 410 Sprints. The win was the 30th career track win for Montieth and was worth $4,475. Brent Marks finished second over Fred Rahmer, Aaron Ott and Danny Dietrich.

Kody Lehman won the PASS 305 Sprint car feature after taking the lead on Lap 19 to win over Ryan Lynn, Michael Wagner, Billy Ney and Tyler Lebo. Logan Wagner was 23rd and Mark Watkins did not qualify.

Chad Layton dominated Saturday night’s 25-lap 410 Sprint car feature at Port Royal Speedway for his first win of the year over Daryn Pittman, Ryan Taylor, Lance Dewease and Dave Ely. Mike Wagner finished eighth.

Coleby Frye picked up his first-ever win at the Port in the 20-lap Late Model feature over Scott Haus, Tim Wilson, Brett Schadel and Andy Haus

Scott Geesey came out on top of Saturday night’s 20-lap Super Sportsman feature in front of the largest crowd in the history of the Saturday Night Series at Williams Grove Speedway. Geesey won over Jay Fannasy, Frankie Herr, Dave Socks and Steve Fannasy.

Randy Stoudt won for a second time this season in the 20-lap 358 Late Model feature over Gene Knaub, Travis Mease, Matt Nailor and Jared Miller.

For the second week in a row, T.J. Stutts came out on top of the 358 Sprint car main at Selinsgrove Speedway. Stutts’ latest win came in Saturday’s 30-lap Joe Whitcomb Memorial and was worth $2,071.

Following Stutts was Jason Shultz, Pat Cannon, Mark Smith and Colby Womer.

Steve Campbell won for the first time this season in the 25-lap Late Model feature that was his 44th career track win. He defeated Meade Hahn, Jeff Rine, Bryan Bernheisel and Chad Davis

Zac Eucalao won Friday night’s 358 Sprint car event at Trail-Way Speedway over Shane Hoff, Jeff Rohrbaugh, Tim Wagaman and Mike Bittinger.

Andy Haus became the 124th different driver to win a Late Model feature at Bedford Speedway.

Haus won Friday night’s 25- lap event over Matt Parks, Matt Sponaugle, Cory Weaver and Wayne Johnson.

Mike Altobelli Jr. also collected his first win of the year in the Limited Late Model feature over Rance Garlock, Tim Smith Jr., Matt Howsare and Josh Berrier.

Andy Fries made his first start of the year in Super Late Model action at Winchester Speedway a good one as he left with the $2,000 payday Saturday night. It was also his first-ever Late Model win at the track, and it came over Keith Jackson, Trevor Feathers, Greg Roberson and CS Fitzgerald.

Don Kreitz Jr. raced to the win in Sunday night’s 410 Sprint car feature at Susquehanna Speedway Park over Greg Hodnett, Aaron Ott, Blane Heimbach and Brent Marks.

Jacob Allen won the SSP 358 Sprint car main over Pat Cannon, Dale Hammaker, Mark Smith and Cris Eash.

That will wrap up another week of racing as we head into the final half of the month and into the hot summer season. Until next time, e-mail reaches me at Bvores@comcast.net.

Great Cove Golf News

Men’s league results for June 14 are as follows:

Highest team point winners were Ken Mayhugh/ Dave Tyson with 8.5.

Individual low gross winner was Brett Cornelius (34).

Individual low net winner was Fred Peck (31).

Closest-to-the-pin winners were: #12 – Fred Peck and on #16 – Meredith Shives.

There was a tie for the first-half league winners between Brett Cornelius/Craig Paylor and Foster Earley/ Ryan Earley with 55.5 points.

They will play a nine-hole match to decide the first-half winners.

Father’s Day Tournament results are as follows:

First place went to the team of Jason Long/Brian Long (70).

Second place: Mark Weller/Steve Weller (72) by match of cards.

Third place: Ken Mayhugh/ JR Mayhugh (72).

Fourth place: Greg Gress/Adam Gress (75).

Better Ball of Partners with handicap winners were:

First place: John Mixell/ Brandi Mixell (55).

Second place: John Mixell/ Landon Mixell (58).

Third place: Tony Shives/ Meredith Shives (61).

Fourth place: Toby Souders/ Dennis McQuade (63).

Closest-to-the-pin winners were: #4 – Ken Mayhugh; # 6 – Toby Souders; #12 – Mark Weller; and #16 – Cory Hall.

Upcoming tournaments: Great Cove Against Cancer Golf Tournament: Sunday, June 24, at 1 p.m.; Riggs Open Sunday, July 8, at 9 a.m. shotgun.

For more information call the pro shop at 717-485-4157.

Little League Results

A’s 14 Braves 4
Winning pitcher was Logan Grubb. Home runs by
Kyler Atherton (A’s).
Yankees 20 Royals 0
Winning pitcher was
Colton Mellott.
A’s 13 Pirates 5
Winning pitcher was Tanner Baughman with 14
strikeouts. Home run by
Kyler Atherton (A’s).
Dodgers 22 Royals 2
Winning pitcher was
Austin Mellott.
Yankees 10 Braves 2
Winning pitcher was
Grayson Hall. Home runs by
Brycen Hohman and Cale
Harman (Yankees).
Dodgers 15 Braves 2
Winning pitcher was
Devin Swope.
Dodgers 15 Braves 5
Winning pitcher was
Shane Schepis. Home runs
by Brice Feagley and Logan
Deshong (Dodgers).
Omitted from last week: a
home run by Quintin Hill (Pirates). A’s 13 2
Pirates 10 2
Yankees 9 6
Dodgers 6 8
Braves 3
Royals 1

PSU Graduates

The following area students were spring 2012 graduates at Penn State University:

Erin Chafardon, Mc- Connellsburg, Altoona campus, human development and family studies.

Megan Crouse, Needmore, World Campus, nursing.

Whitney Deshong, Mc- Connellsburg, University Park, human development and family studies.

Wendy Garlock, Three Springs, University Park with distinction, two-year human development and family studies.

Nicholas Hess, Harrisonville, University Park with highest distinction, biology .

Wesley Mellott, Needmore, University Park, media studies.

Rita Sipes, Harrisonville, Mont Alto with distinction, nursing.

Timmy Strait, Mc- Connellsburg, University Park, engineering science.

Caleb Washabaugh, Mc- Connellsburg, University Park, biology.

Amber Zinobile, Three Springs, Mont Alto, two-year nursing.

Return to top