2012-06-21 / Sports

McQuade, Rasp Take Wins At Path Valley Speedway

By Rob Keller

4-Cyiinder Thunder Care winner Justin Rasp. 4-Cyiinder Thunder Care winner Justin Rasp. For three of the five winners at Path Valley Speedway it was their first win of this season and for one of them, it was a career first win.

Nathan Shaw set the early pace in the Mini Stock division, leading the first nine laps. Ryan Laye used the low groove and powered into the lead on Lap 10. Laye slowly pulled away after that to take the win. It was a special day for the Laye family as earlier Ryan’s younger sister, Amanda, helped the Fannett Metal softball team win the PA state championship. Shaw finished second, but was disqualified for an illegal part, giving second place to Frankie Gordon. Third through fifth went to Gary Dehart, Lyle Barnes, and David Bookwalter. Heat races were won by Ronnie Garlock and Laye.

Adam Yetter broke through for his first win in 2012 in the Super Stock feature. Yetter started first and led all 20 laps, holding off Curtis Guyer’s pass attempts the final five laps. Devin Hart finished third, Joe Daywalt fourth and Joey Burdge fifth. Hart and Daywalt won their heat races.

4-Cylinder Thunder Care winner Dalton McQuade 4-Cylinder Thunder Care winner Dalton McQuade Kyle Wiser started first in the Late Model feature, leading the field to the green flag. Twenty-five laps later Wiser was ahead by a full straightaway, claiming his first win at Path Valley in 2012. Wes Bonebrake held off Tim Fedder to finish second, with Sean Merkel in fourth and Steve Bailor fifth. Merkel and Randy Burkholder were heat race winners.

Kenny Singer controlled the Street Stock division all night long, winning the heat race and leading start-to-finish in the feature. Josh Gustaf finished second and Bridge Bookwalter third.

The most dramatic finish was saved for last in the 4-Cylinder Thunder Car main event. Chase Shaw led from the drop of the green, with Tony Hampton in second and Justin Rasp third. Shaw was able to pull away as Hampton fought off the passing attempts of Rasp. Hampton lost control and spun out due to a flat right rear tire with about five laps remaining, putting Rasp on Shaw’s back bumper for the restart. They stayed that way until Rasp moved to the inside exiting Turn 2 on Lap 20. As they got to Turn 3 Shaw turned down into Rasp and the two cars tangled together and came to a stop just short of the outside guardrail in Turn 3. Rasp’s car was damaged and he was forced to retire, and Shaw was sent to the rear for instigating the accident. This put Dalton McQuade on point for the restart. McQuade made no mistakes on the final lap to win his first feature event ever. It was also his first start in a car they just purchased from Denny Cramer. Second through fifth went to Shaun Linn, Tony Hampton, Justin Rasp and Robert Mc- Quade. Dalton McQuade also won the heat race.

Saturday, June 23: 4- Cylinder Thunder Cars, 270cc & 600cc Micro Sprints, Outlaw Classics, and Legends

The night before Father’s Day, Timmie Barrick fulfilled his afternoon prediction and Daryl Beakler got his first career Micro Sprint win.

When polesitter Mike Boyer jumped the start of the 270cc Micro Sprint feature he was sent to the rear, and Daryl Beakler took over the top spot. Beakler took full advantage, leading all 20 laps to get his first win after switching from stock cars to micro sprints four years ago. Beakler’s friend and traveling companion, Bob Brubaker, stayed within a few car lengths the entire 20 laps for a solid secondplace finish. Levi Peck started seventh and finished third in the nonstop event. Boyer came back to finish fourth, and Jerry Palm finished fifth. Boyer also won the heat race.

It was another 1-2 finish for Justin Williamson and Charlie Stallman in the 4-Cylinder Strictly Stock feature. Williamson took the lead from Nathan Woolley on Lap 3 and then held off a charge by Stallman over the last five laps for the win. Steven Jacobs finished third, ahead of Gary Guise and Matt Sowers. The heat race win went to Williamson.

Doug Guise was the only 6-Cylinder Strictly Stock in attendance, giving him the win.

Gary Dehart started first in the Mini Stock feature and led the first two laps. Dehart’s race car was not handling well entering the turns, and Ronnie Garlock powered by and into the lead on Lap 3. Garlock was never challenged the remainder of the way as he claimed victory. Dehart held off Chris Anderson for second, while Matt Williamson finished fourth and Shaun Patterson fifth. Garlock won the heat race too.

Timmie Barrick predicted to his family in the afternoon that he was going to be in victory lane later than night. Early in the race it looked like that would not be the case as Geoff Gill set the pace and pulled out nearly a full straightaway advantage. Around Lap 7 Barrick began to close the gap. On Lap 15 Barrick was right behind Gill and passed Gill exiting Turn 2 on Lap 16. Before they could complete the lap, the caution waved for Devin Beidel’s 360-degree spinout, and Gill retained the top spot. Two more cautions slowed the action until Lap 17. Gill kept Barrick at bay for two more laps, until Barrick made the winning pass exiting Turn 4 on Lap 19. Mike Rynard posted one of his best finishes at Path Valley with a third-place effort, finishing ahead of Jerry Schott and Devin Beidel. Heat race wins went to Barrick and Garrett Bard.

Only one Stock 600cc Micro Sprint signed-in, giving the win to Seth Garman.

When polesitter David Stull elected to start in the rear of the 4- Cylinder Thunder Car feature it put Justin Rasp in the first starting position. Just as Daryl Beakler did in the 270cc Micro Sprints, Rasp took full advantage, leading all 20 laps to take the win. Josh Walstrum kept the pressure on Rasp the last 10 laps, but Rasp used the momentum of the high groove to stay out front. Kyle Martin, Dalton McQuade, and Raymond Middaugh finished third through fifth. Middaugh won the heat race

Coming up next weekend: Friday, June 22: 4- Cylinder Thunder Cars, Mini Stocks, Street Stocks, Super Stocks, and Legends.

Return to top