2012-06-14 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Brian Leppo made the best of a one-night stand in the Zemco Speed Equipment sprinter Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway as he drove the race of his life to pick up the win in the All- Star Circuit of Champions feature.

Leppo came out on top of a wild battle with Brian Montieth and Stevie Smith to give the Zemco team the win in its first night together.

Smith, Greg Hodnett, Daryn Pittman and Tim Shaffer were the top-five finishers. It was the 26th straight win against the All- Stars for the Posse.

Danny Dietrich continued his great season as he set back the All Stars Saturday night at Lincoln Speedway in an impressive performance in the nonstop 30- lap feature.

Dietrich’s fifth win of the year came over Alan Krimes, Fred Rahmer, Cory Haas and Aaron Ott.

High school student Shane Hoff won his first-ever 358 Sprint car main at Lincoln over Keith Prutzman, Brie Hershey, Niki Young and Tim Berkheimer.

It was a big night for Joe Leavell Saturday night at Hagerstown Speedway.

The Waynesboro, Va., driver came out on top of both Steel Block Bandits feature at the track, including the rescheduled Richard Bonebrake Tribute plus a regular main event.

Leavell’s win in the Bonebrake event came over Justin Weaver, Andy Fries, Glenn Elliott and Walker Arthur, while he defeated Weaver, Elliott, Tyler Armstrong and Wayne Walls Jr. to win the other 25-lap feature. Cory Houck finished 11th in the first main and 16th in the other feature. Marvin Winters did not qualify.

Darrin Younker won for the first time in Pure Stock action over Chris Ebersole, Tony Catlett, Brian Miller and Wayne Hawbaker, while Lane Hessong won the Hobby Stock main over Gary Proctor and Mark Vegh.

Steve Owings won Friday’s 358 Sprint car main at Trail-Way Speedway over Jordan Givler, Jeff Rohrbaugh, Joe Trone Jr. and Mike Bittinger.

TJ Stutts picked up his first 25-lap 358 Sprint car win of the season Saturday at Selinsgrove Speedway. Stutts, who started ninth, inherited the top spot with four laps to go in the event when leader Brock Zearfoss’s car lost power. He drove to the win over Blane Heimbach, Phil Walter, Jason Shultz and Pat Cannon.

Dover’s Coleby Frye won the 30-lap Late Model Spring Championship and the $2,500 payday for his first win of the season. Frye held off a final lap bid from Jamie Lathroum to take the win with Gregg Satterlee, Bryan Bernheisel and Dylan Yoder completing the top five.

Justin Ehrhart made it back-to-back wins Saturday night at Susquehanna Speedway Park as he led the final 15 laps to win the 25- lap 358 Late Model feature over Carl Billet, Bob Minnich, Billy Wampler and JR Rodriguez.

Doug Bennett won for the fifth time in Street Stock action over Randy Zechman, Nick Bloom, Scott Thunberg and Dave Latsha.

Greencastle’s DJ Myers made his first start of the season at Bedford Speedway a good one as he left with Friday night’s 25-lap Late Model feature win. Myers started seventh and took the lead on Lap 21 to score the win over Jack Pencil, Chuck Clise, Matt Parks and Cory Weaver.

Robbie Black won his second Limited Late Model feature over Tim Smith, Ralph Morgan, Mike Altobelli and Matt Howsare.

Steve Wilbur won Saturday’s Super Sportsman feature at Williams Grove Speedway, just three weeks after spending a few days in Hershey Medical Center after suffering head and leg injuries in a racing crash at the track. Wilbur’s first win since 2007 came over Scott Dellinger, Mike Enders, Frankie Herr and Rick Barr.

Gene Knaub won for the third time in Grove 358 Late Model action over Matt Henry, Sam Gallagher, Jared Miller and John Ebersole.

Craig Morgan and Doug Hoffman split Grove Twin 15s for street stocks.

Damion Gardner won Saturday’s first-ever USAC Sprint car Eastern Storm event at Port Royal Speedway over Tracy Hines, Jon Stanbrough, Robert Ballou and Dave Darland, while sixth-place finisher Bryan Clauson won the overall Eastern Storm series title

Young Trevor Feathers won his first career Late Model feature Saturday at Winchester Speedway as he took the $3,000 win in the Paul Johnson Memorial over Roy Deese, DJ Myers, Kenny Pettyjohn and Gary Stuhler. Frankie Plessinger finished 12th.

That will do it for another week. As always, e-mail Bvores@comcast.net.

Return to top