2012-06-07 / Entertainment

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Jamie Lathroum kicked off the fourth annual Appalachian Mountain Late Model Speedweek presented by Harbaugh Amusements with a big win Saturday night at Hagerstown Speedway.

Lathroum, of Mechanicsville, Md., started third in the 40-lap feature and dominated the event, taking the checkered flag by a 5.416 second advantage in his second straight Hagerstown win and first career Speedweek feature win.

The win was worth $5,000 to Lathroum, who took the lead from defending World of Outlaws champion Rick Eckert on the 12th lap.

Tim McCreadie finished second ahead of Dan Stone, Eckert and Gregg Satterlee, with Roy Deese Jr., Booper Bare, Gary Stuhler, DJ Myers and Jason Covert completing the top 10. Marvin Winters was 23rd, while Frankie Plessinger and Tyler Hershey did not qualify. There were 46 cars on hand.

Brian Miller won for the second time in Hagerstown Pure Stock action over Bruce Leibowitz, Tony Catlett, Charlie Pensinger and Danny Beavers.

Late Model Speedweek continued Sunday night at Winchester Speedway where Gregg Satterlee was the feature winner over Dan Stone, Jason Covert, Jared Miley and Keith Jackson. There were 58 cars.

Cory Haas turned in another impressive performance to win Saturday’s 25- lap 410 Sprint car main at Lincoln Speedway. Haas came from eighth to take the lead on Lap 12 and never looked back in the win over Jim Siegel, Gerard McIntyre Jr., Alan Krimes and Logan Schuchart.

Mike Bittinger won the 358 Sprint car main at Lincoln over Austin Hogue, Todd Rittenhouse Jr., Matt Findlay and Niki Young.

Lance Dewease inherited the lead on the 20th lap of Saturday’s 25-lap 410 Sprint car feature at Port Royal Speedway and turned it into his 96th career win at the track. Daryl Stimeling outgunned fellow front row starter Dewease at the start and held the top spot for the first 19 laps before his left rear tire went flat while holding a half-straightaway lead.

Dewease went to the point and held off Greg Hodnett for his second win of the year at the track, with Chad Layton, Harrionsville’s Mike Wagner and Rick Lafferty following.

For the third time in his career, Andy Haus raced away with the win in the 20- lap Late Model feature. Haus took the lead on Lap 14 and held off Mike Lupfer for the win with Mitch Hack, Chad Hollenbeck and Scott Haus completing the top five.

For the second time in three weeks, Carlisle’s Jason Shultz raced home the winner in 358 Sprint car competition at Selinsgrove Speedway. Shultz won Saturday night’s 25-lap event at the Snyder County oval over Pat Cannon by a scant .44 of a second. Eric Tomecek, last week’s winner Cody Keller and early race leader Phil Walter were the top-five finishers.

For the 75th time in his career, Danville’s Jeff Rine captured the checkered flag in the Late Model main. The defending seven-time track champion came from his 10th starting spot to take the lead eight laps away and drove off to a 4.3 second margin of victory over Steve Campbell, Jim Yoder, Ken Trevitz and Dylan Yoder.

Steve Fannasy won Saturday’s Bill Heckert Memorial for Super Sportsman at Williams Grove Speedway over Frankie Herr, Russ Mitten, Rick Barr and Carmen Perigo Jr.

Gene Knaub raced to the Grove 358 Late Model win over Ralph Morgan Jr., Randy Stoudt, Wes Alleman and Grant Adams.

Justin Ehrhart was the Saturday night 358 Late Model winner at Susquehanna Speedway over JR Rodriguez, Carl Billet, Billy Wampler and John Moser Jr., while Doug Bennett won for a fourth time in SSP Street stock action.

Friday night racing at Williams Grove and Trail- Way speedways was rained out as well as opening night of Late Model Speedweek at Big Diamond Raceway. Sunday night’s Roy Morral Tribute 410 Sprint event at Bedford Speedway was also rained out.

That’s a wrap on another weekend as the All-Star Circuit of Champions invades central PA this weekend for races Friday at Williams Grove and Saturday at Lincoln. Until next week, e-mail at Bvores@comcast.net.

Return to top