2012-05-31 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

The 2012 Keystone Cup 410 Sprint Series is in the history books as three of the five scheduled races were completed. The series opener at Grandview and the finale at Selinsgrove Speedway were both rained out.

Thursday night Port Royal Speedway winner Greg Hodnett won his first career KC series championship on the heels of his win and two eighth-place finishes. He had 400 points compared to runner up Danny Dietrich’s 394 points. Daryn Pittman (380), Lance De-wease (369) and Fred Rahmer and Hafertepe (both 357) were the top five in the final points.

The series drew a total of 64 cars for the three shows.

Hodnett dominated Thursday night at the Port in his fifth win of the year at the track over Dewease, Dietrich, Alan Krimes and Blane Heimbach. Mike Wagner finished eighth.

Fred Rahmer used a late race pass on Dietrich to win Friday night at Williams Grove, with Dietrich, Adam Wilt, Pittman and Hafertepe the top five. Hodnett suffered a flat tire during the event and rebounded for an eighth-place finish.

Saturday night at Lincoln Speedway, Brian Montieth came out on top of a thrilling nonstop feature that also set a new 30-lap track record. His third season win came over Aaron Ott, Rahmer, Hafertepe and Pittman.

The 305 Sprints were in action at Williams Grove Friday as Matt Mountz took the win over Cody Lehman, Mark Watkins, Tyler Lebo and Tyler Bear. Logan Wagner blew a motor and finished 18th, while brother Michael was involved in a pre-race incident that resulted in him flipping.

Jamie Lathroum won for the first time since 2009 at Hagerstown Speedway as he won Friday night’s 35-lap Hagerstown/ Winchester Shootout for Late Models. Lathroum’s $3,000 flag-toflag win came over Dan Stone, Kenny Pettyjohn, Gary Stuhler and Mike Lupfer. Tyler Hershey finished 13th, Marvin Winters 15th and Frankie Plessinger 19th.

Keith Koontz was the Pure Stock winner over Drew Fitzsimmons, Tony Catlett, Kevin Boyer and Darrin Younker, while Brooks Coleman won the All-American Outlaws feature.

The Shootout switched to Winchester Speedway on Saturday night as Keith Jackson made it back-toback wins at the track as he won over Lathroum, Stone, Ronnie DeHaven Jr. and Jason Covert. Plessinger was 12th and Hershey 16th.

Hagerstown Speedway was also in action Saturday as the Late Model Sportsman competed in the Bill Bowman Special, with Wayne Walls Jr. scoring the feature win over Pete Weaver, Rick Hulson, Andy Fries and Terry Flaherty. Cory Houck finished 12th.

After suffering serious neck injuries in 2009, young Cody Keller made the ultimate comeback with his first career 358 Sprint car win Saturday night at Selinsgrove Speedway. Keller’s win came over Duane Mausteller, Derek Locke, Pat Cannon and TJ Stutts.

Jeff Rine made it two wins on the season as he scored the Late Model feature win over Dave Zona, Steve Campbell, Coleby Frye and Dylan Yoder.

Kyle Moody won Friday’s Spring Championship for 358 Sprints at Trail-Way Speedway over Austin Hogue, Brad McClelland, Mike Bittinger and Jeff Rohrbaugh.

Path Valley Speedway hosted a special 358 Sprint car event on Sunday afternoon, and it was Logan Wagner showing the fast way around the track with his 305 motor under the hood. Wagner led all the way for the $1,000 win over Ryan Wilson, Rodney Westhafter, Austin Hogue and Tyler Ross.

Saturday night racing at Port Royal, Susquehanna and Williams Grove Speedway was all rained out as was Sunday night’s big Late Model show at Hesston.

The fourth annual Appalachian Mountain Late Model Speedweek will kick off Friday night at Big Diamond Raceway then will head to Hagerstown Speedway Saturday and Winchester Speedway Sunday. Speedweek will take Monday off before hitting Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex next Tuesday, followed by a stop at Dog Hollow Speedway on Wednesday. The Speedweek series will conclude next Thursday night at Lincoln Speedway. Austin Hubbard is the defending Late Model Speedweek series champion.

That’s a wrap on the final weekend of May as we head into the summer part of the racing schedule. Until next week, e-mail reaches me at Bvores@comcast.net.

Return to top