2012-04-26 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Chad Layton turned in an impressive performance to capture the win in Friday night’s 30-lap Tommy Hinnershitz Spring Classic for 410 Sprints at Williams Grove Speedway.

Layton, who won the same race back in 2010, led all 30 laps to become the new point leader at the track. Greg Hodnett finished in the runner-up spot over Daryn Pittman, Doug Esh and Aaron Ott.

Tyler Bear led all 20 laps to win the PASS 305 Sprint car feature as he scored the win over Harrisonville’s Michael Wagner, Mc- Connellsburg’s Mark Watkins, Matt Mountz and Randy Kaylor. Harrisonville’s Logan Wagner flipped with six laps to go while running third. Wagner did not suffer any major injuries.

Defending track champion Jeff Rohrbaugh picked up his first 25-lap 358 Sprint car win Friday night at Trail-Way Speedway as he led the entire distance for the win over Austin Hogue, Joe Trone Jr., Kyle Moody and Tim Wagaman.

Grant Adams won the 358 Late Model main at Trail-Way over Steve Billet, Tommy Slanker, Larry Baer and Bobby Beard.

Under the direction of Joe Padula, Bedford Speedway opened for the first time this season on Friday night, but it was a familiar face in Jack Pencil who picked up the opening night Late Model feature win. Pencil took the win over Jeff Rine, Matt Parks, Coleby Frye and Wayne Johnson.

Brian Lessley scored the Bedford Late Model Sportsman win over Matt Howsare, Tim Smith Jr., DJ Troutman and Robbie Black. Mc- Connellsburg’s Marvin Winters finished eighth.

Mother Nature made a big impact on the balance of the weekend, washing out the entire Saturday night racing card across the midstate area.

The UNOH All- Stars head into central PA this weekend to battle the PA Posse with action Friday at Williams Grove, Saturday at Port Royal and Sunday at Clinton County. The Port Royal event will be the Bob Weikert Memorial and will pay $10,000 to win plus another $3,000 in lap money should one driver lead all 30 laps.

Return to top