2012-04-26 / Sports

Burkholder Wins First At Path Valley

By Rob Keller

One driver claimed his first win ever at Path Valley Speedway Friday night, while three others continued their early season hot streaks.

In the Mini Stock feature Frankie Gordon lead the first lap but relinquished the top spot on Lap 2 to Ronnie Garlock. Gordon stayed close, and when Garlock left the inside groove open on a lap ten restart Gordon went low and seized the lead back again. Gordon led the remaining 10 laps for the win. Eric Seibert passed Gordon just past halfway and kept Gordon close, but finished second. Garlock finished third, Troy Cramer fourth, and Shaun Patterson fifth. Seibert won the heat race.

Adam Imes remained perfect in 2012 in the Super Stocks, winning his third feature in as many events. Imes started second and led the first five laps. Carl Miller used the high line to drive around Imes and led laps six through 10. But on a Lap 11 restart Miller’s car faltered, slowing to a stop on the backstretch, giving the lead back to Imes. Imes led the remaining laps for the win, fending off a late race challenge by Devin Hart. A.J. Verno finished third, ahead of Curtis Guyer and Tim Wagner. Heat wins went to Guyer and Imes.

Randy Burkholder started second in the Late Model feature and led all 25 laps to claim his first-ever win at Path Valley. While Burkholder was showing the way by over a full straightaway, Steve Bailor and Danny Snyder worked up through the field and battled for second over the final five laps, with Bailor holding on to second at the line. George Dixon finished fourth and Ralph Morgan finished fifth. Bob Dunn and Wes Bonebrake were heat race victors.

Bill Diehl started last in the 14-car field of Legends, but was the beneficiary of several early-race accidents. Nearing halfway Diehl was in third and closing in on the leaders. First Diehl passed Rick Miller for second and one lap later he snuck inside Scott Gobrecht for the lead. Gobrecht did not give up easily, keeping the pressure on Diehl after surrendering the lead on Lap 9. Diehl met every challenge over the last 12 laps for the win. Second through fifth went to Gobrecht, Miller, Randy Minich, and Ed Trump. Heat wins went to Miller and Scott Houdeshell.

Jeremy Ott led every lap of the 4-Cylinder Thunder Car feature for his third win in 2012. Ott’s biggest challenge came on a restart when Justin Rasp got to the inside of Ott entering turn three. Slight contact between the two resulted in Rasp spinning toward the infield. The feature then became a survival event, with only four of the nine starters still running at the end. Jason Pecho finished second, ahead of Tony Hampton, Robert McQuade, and Shaun Linn. Chase Shaw claimed the heat race checkers.

Results 4/20

Mini Stock: 1. Frankie Gordon (Ft. Loudon, Pa.), 2. Eric Seibert, 3. Ronnie Garlock, 4. Troy Cramer, 5. Shaun Patterson, 6. Keith Walls, 7. Bill Kennedy, 8. Eric Grubb.

Super Stock: 1. Adam Imes (Mifflin, Pa.), 2. Devin Hart, 3 .A.J. Verno, 4. Curtis Guyer, 5. Tim Wagner, 6. Craig Imes, 7. Joe Hawbaker, 8. Austin Johnson, 9. Shyann Bard, 10. Kenny Hill, 11. Carl Miller, 12. Adam Yetter, 13. Shawn Gill.

Late Model: 1. Randy Burkholder ( Chambersburg), 2. Steve Bailor, 3. Danny Snyder, 4. George Dixon, 5. Ralph Morgan, 6. Wes Bonebrake, 7. Bob Dunn, 8. Tim Fedder, 9. Dan Sollers, 10. Kenny Yoder.

Legend: 1. Bill Diehl (Craley, Pa.), 2. Scott Gobrecht, 3. Rick Miller, 4. Randy Minich, 5. Ed Trump, 6. Jacob Feltch, 7. Chad Earnst, 8. Chris McKinney, 9. Brad Mellott, 10. David Miller, 11. Scott Houdeshell, 12. Bob Stough, 13. John Hall, 14. Chris Spidle.

4-Cylinder Thunder Car: 1. Jeremy Ott (Upper Strasburg, Pa.), 2. Jason Pecho, 3. Tony Hampton, 4. Robert McQuade, 5. Shaun Linn, 6. Justin Rasp, 7. Kenny Gearhart, 8. Chase Shaw, 9. Nathan Shaw.

Coming up next weekend: Friday, April 27: 4-Cylinder Thunder Car, Mini Stock, Street Stock and Sidewinder Sprints.

Saturday, April 28: 4- Cylinder Thunder Car, Mini Stock, 270cc & 600cc Micro Sprints, All-American Outlaws, 4-Cylinder and 6-Cylinder Strictly Stocks, plus makeup features for 270cc Micro Sprints, 4-Cylinder Thunder Cars, and 4-Cylinder and 6-Cylinder Strictly Stocks.

Return to top