2012-04-19 / Local & State

Chamber Of Commerce To Celebrate 60th B-Day

At awards banquet on Saturday evening
By Jean Snyder

The Fulton County Chamber of Commerce and Tourism is throwing a birthday party on Saturday evening and more than 200 of its closest friends have been invited to the annual Celebration of Excellence and Distinction awards night at the firehall in Mc- Connellsburg at 6 p.m.

This year the chamber will celebrate its 60th birthday and to mark the occasion, all past chamber presidents, board members and award winners have been invited and will be honored. According to chamber administrative assistant Shar-on Hoopengardner, nearly 200 are expected to be in attendance on Saturday evening to see awards presented to Richard “Dick” Miller (Person of the Year), Brenda Gordon (Outstanding Citizen), Pete Hall (Community Service) and Palmer Realty (Excellence in Small Business).

The Fulton County Chamber of Commerce was founded in 1951 by a spirited group of enterprising folks who shared a common vision in promoting Fulton County as a wonderful spot to live and work. This was followed by the establishment in 1976 of the Fulton County Tourist Promotion Agency to advocate Fulton County as a wonderful area to visit. In 2002, the two organizations merged to form the Fulton County Chamber of Commerce and Tourism.

A list of past presidents of the chamber goes back only as far as 1961 when Eugene Earley was president. He was followed by Lyle Duffey and the list (which will be available at the banquet) continues up to the current president, Dwight Washabaugh. Dwight’s brother, Mark, served as president in 2009, and their father, D.A. Washabaugh III, held the office in 1976-1977.

Saturday evening’s festivities are being organized by the chamber’s Awards Committee, whose members are Judy Neil – chairperson, Clyde Bookheimer, Dwight Washabaugh, Deb Mellott, Sharon Hoopengardner and Brooke Sheeder.

Chamber officers include Washabaugh, president; Deb Mellott, vice president; Connie Barton, secretary; and Dori Ann Hoffman, treasurer. Other board members include Clyde Bookheimer, Lisa Daniels, Loy Garber, Brenda Gordon, Luke Hammond, Joyce Lynch, Bonnie Mellott-Keefer, Judy Neil, Annette Rasp and Jason Ritchey.

Return to top