2012-04-19 / Front Page

Primary Election This Tuesday

By Chanin Rotz-Mountz

After hearing the talk and watching the ongoing debates for the past year, residents of Fulton County will finally have the opportunity to cast their vote on April 24 during the spring presidential primary election.

Proclaiming himself as the “last conservative standing” in the 2012 race, former Speaker of the House Newt Gingrich finds himself in the number one slot on the Republican spring primary ballot. Gingrich, a native of Harrisburg, Pa., spent eight years teaching history and environmental science at West Georgia College before being elected to Congress in 1978. He went on to represent the state of Georgia in Congress for the next 20 years, which included four years as speaker of the House.

Gingrich also served on the Defense Policy Board under the direction and guidance of then- President George W. Bush. Over the years he has committed himself to changing the healthcare system for all Americans. His care and dedication won him the 1995 Citizen of the Year Award from the March of Dimes as well as a nonmedical award from the American Diabetes Association.

In his slow climb to being the top-ranking Republican presidential nominee, former Massachusett’s Gov. Mitt Romney will be ranked second on the county’s primary ballot. Elected to governor 10 years ago, Romney addres- sed a variety of issues plaguing the state, including out-ofcontrol spending and a lagging economy. During his time in office, Romney is lauded as having cast more than 800 veto votes on issues that were against his conservative values. At the conclusion of his term of office in 2007, the then governor had reportedly accrued a $2 billion rainy day fund for the state.

A graduate of Brigham Young University, Romney also earned dual degrees from Harvard Law and Harvard Business School. He is responsible for founding the investment firm Bain Capital in the mid-1980s, which launched and rebuilt companies ranging from Staples to The Sports Authority.

Texas Congressman Ron Paul also finds himself on the spring ballot in the number three position. A spokesman for “limited constitutional government, low taxes and free markets,” Paul is also a native of Pennsylvania having been born and raised in Pittsburgh. A graduate of Gettysburg College and Duke University School of Medicine, Paul served as a a flight surgeon in the U.S. Air Force during the 1960s. He later moved to Texas, where he established a obstetrics/gynecology speciality service.

Paul served in the House of Representatives during the late 1970s through the early 1980s and on the House Banking Committee and the Gold Commission. He would later return to Congress in 1997 to represent the constituents of the 14th Congressional district of Texas. He serves on both the House Financial Services Committee and the Foreign Affairs Committee.

Having suspended his presidential race campaign only two weeks ago, former U.S. Sen. Rick Santorum of Pennsylvania is currently listed in the fourth and final slot on the Republican ballot. At the age of 32, Santorum was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives and five years later would serve in the U.S. Senate, a position he would hold until 2007.

A pro-life advocate, Santorum wrote legislation that would outlaw partial birth abortion. He also penned and supported the “Born Alive Infants Protection Act,” the “Unborn Victims of Violence Act,” and the “Combating Autism Act.”

Purportedly one of our state’s most conservative senators in history, Santorum served eight years on the Senate Armed Services Committee.

Meanwhile on the Democratic ticket, President Barack Obama is running uncontested in hopes of securing re-election along with vice presidential candidate Joe Biden. While in office Obama has worked toward getting Americans back into the workforce and bringing back economic security for the nation’s middle-class. Through the passage of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act, Obama reduced small business taxes and “provided emergency funding to support almost 300,000 educator jobs, more than 4,600 law enforcement positions, and investments in the clean energy sector that supported 224,500 jobs through 2010.” Through March 2012, it is estimated more than than 4.1 million private sector jobs were added over 25 consecutive months of job growth.

Healthcare and insurance has also been a hot topic for the Obama administration, which passed the Affordable Care Act. Once the law is fully implemented, officials claim about 95 percent of Americans under age 65 will have insurance.

In other election races on the Republican ticket, registered voters are asked to vote for only one of five individuals listed for United States senator. Those candidates seeking nomination include David Alan Christian (Bucks County); Marc A. Scaringi (Cumberland); Steven D. Welsh (Chester); Tom Smith (Armstrong); and Sam Rohrer (Berks). On the Democratic ballot, United States senator candidates are Joseph John Vodvarka, of Allegheny County, and Lackawanna County resident and incumbent Bob Casey Jr.

Republican candidate David J. Freed, of Cumberland County, is running uncontested for his party’s nomination for state attorney general, while Democrats Kathleen G. Kane (Lackawanna) and Patrick Murphy (Bucks) are batting it out for their party’s lone nomination.

Republican voters will cast their vote for Frank A. Pinto (Dauphin) or John Maher (Allegheny) for state auditor general, while Democrats have one candidate from York County, Eugene A. Depasquale.

Meanwhile, Republican Diana Irey Vaughan and Democrat Robert M. McCord are currently running unopposed for their party’s nomination for state treasurer .

U.S. Congressman Bill Shuster of Blair County and the 9th Congressional District and Dick L. Hess of the state’s 78th General Assembly are both running unopposed on the Republican ticket.

Voters will be instructed to vote for no more than three of the candidates listed for Republican delegates to the Republican National Convention. Those up for consideration are Mary S. Burkholder, Bill Shuster, Joan Smith, Bob L. Thomas, Meryle-Lynn Epps, Judy F. Ward, Audra Cruder, Dick L. Hess, Richard A. Geist, Richard Alloway II, Wade A. Kagarise and Allan N. Campbell.

Democrat candidates up for consideration to attend the Democratic National Convention are Al Ambrosini, Patricia Jan Jones, Lauren E. Mahoney, James T. Davis, Jack Hanna and Cybil E. Moore. Those candidates are further described by gender on the ballot as well as by the fact they are all committed to President Obama. Voters will be unable to vote for more than six of the candidates presented (three males, three females).

Furthermore, Republican candidates interested in serving as alternate delegates to the National Convention include Bruce K. Kelley, Travis G. Schooley, Randolph I. Keefer, Bruce Erb, Bernadette S. Comfort, Mark A. Brown, Judy F. Ward, Patricia J. Gambol and Debbie Shuster-King. Voters can vote for no more than three of the candidates.

In addition, the Republican Party is also asking for voters to cast their vote for local residents wishing to serve as township committeeperson. No more than three votes can be cast per township. Individuals listed on the ballot are Ayr Township - James F. Smith, Nancy D. Suders, Karen Sue Schooley; Belfast Township - Edgar M. Yates, Jacqueline K. Yates; Bethel Township - Joseph M. Hagerty, Mary M. Hagerty, Rebecca L. Mellott; Dublin Township - Troy M. Miller, Mikeal A. Fix, Bonnie S. Miller; Licking Creek Township - Ronald P. Swope, Joey L. Helser, Penny Kipp; McConnellsburg Borough - Tina A. Washabaugh, Catherine E. Washabaugh; Taylor Township - Cree Fix; Todd Township - Lisa Mellott-McConahy, Randolph I. Keefer, Samuel A. Metz; and Wells Township - William F. Peffer and Glenn Ford.

Return to top