2012-02-02 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Harrisonville’s Mike Wagner was honored as the 2011 410 Sprint car track champion at Port Royal Speedway at its annual banquet Saturday night.

Wagner defeated Ryan Taylor by 15 points to bring home his second career track title. His first title came back during the 1991 racing season.

Wagner received the firstplace point fund payoff along with a championship ring and championship jackets as well as the championship trophy.

Wagner never won last season but put together a consistent season that included four top-five finishes and nine more top-10 finishes to bring in the title.

Taylor was named Most Improved Driver, Davey Sammons won Rookie of the Year, and Cliff Brian won the Sportsmanship Award.

Scott Haus was honored for his fifth- straight and eighth-overall late model title at the Port. Haus had one feature win along with 10 top-five finishes as the all time track leading winner outdistanced runner- up Mitch Hack by 310 points. Terry Naugle was Most Improved Driver, Patrick Bryner Rookie of the Year and Tim Wilson won the Sportsmanship award.

Brian Towsey was the Pro Stock champion, and Jen Powell was the Enduro Dash champion.

Port Royal Speedway is scheduled to open for the 2012 racing season on Saturday, March 17 at 6pm.

Many area 410 Sprint car drivers will be headed south to Georgia and then onto Florida beginning next week as the University of Northern Ohio All-Star Sprints kick of the Sprint car season.

Lincoln Speedway is still scheduled for a February 25 opener for the 410 Sprint cars.

That will do it for this week. Until next time, e-mail Bvores@comcast.net.

Return to top