2012-01-19 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

For the second-straight season, World of Outlaws champion Jason Meyers has been named the Driver of the Year by the North American 410 Sprint Car Poll. Meyers received 26 first-place votes out of a possible 29 for his second-straight title.

Donny Schatz finished second in the final voting and received two first-place votes followed by Steve Kinser, All- Star Sprint champion Tim Shaffer (who received one first place vote) and Craig Dollanksy.

Sammy Swindell finished sixth ahead of Joey Saldana and Paul McMahan, with Pennsylvania racers Lance Dewease of Fayetteville ninth and Thomasville’s Greg Hodnett 10th. Dewease won the Williams Grove Speedway track title, and Hodnett was the overall Central PA Points champion for a third-straight season.

Pennsylvania racer Daryn Pittman was 11th, Fred Rahmer 17th, Brian Montieth 18th and Lucas Wolfe 19th.

Meyers’ team, owned by himself, Chris Luck and Guy Stockbridge, earned the Team of the Year honors for the first time. Knoxville Raceway rookie Dustin Selvage won Rookie of the Year, while Kyle Larson won the Wild Card award.

Harrisburg’s Jerry Reigle received posthumously the Media Member of the Year and also the Outstanding Contribution to the Sport award. Reigle lost a tough battle with stomach cancer in August.

Shane Stewart was voted the 2011 360 Sprint Car Driver of the Year by the Poll, and it was his second time as the top driver in the country. He received 13 firstplace votes.

Johnny Herrera, Jason Johnson, Brady Bacon and Tim Crawley were the top five in final voting. URC champion Curt Michael placed sixth, with URC runner up JJ Grasso 16th and Williams Grove 358 Sprint champion Pat Cannon 22nd.

Port Royal Speedway released its 2012 schedule as the track looks to open the gates on Saturday, March 17 with a 410 Sprint and 358 Sprint car opener. There are 25 race dates for the 410 Sprint cars, including the annual Tuscarora 50 events that will again be sanctioned by the All Star Sprints and serve as the East Region points finale for the series.

Port Royal will also have two shows in October including a 410 sprint show. The Late Models have 20 dates on the schedule and some special shows include the USAC series, The Living Legends Dream Race and the annual Speedweek races.

Port Royal will honor its 2011 champions at its banquet next Saturday, including 410 Sprint car champion Mike Wagner of Harrisonville.

That’s it for another week as we are looking forward to taking part in a rally this week at PSU in support of alumni looking for due process and a change in the leadership at PSU. Until next time, e-mail reaches me at Bvores@comcast.net.

Return to top