2011-11-24 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Lincoln Speedway held its awards banquet on Saturday night to honor its top drivers from the 2011 racing season.

Brian Montieth and the Premier Autosports Sprint car team were honored as 410 Sprint car champions for the fourth-straight season. Montieth had six wins on the year and moved into 10th spot on the all-time track win list. Montieth’s margin of victory came by just 20 points over runner-up Danny Dietrich.

Scott Zellers, crew chief for Montieth, was Crew Chief of the Year, while Chad Criswell won Rookie of the Year, Brent Marks won the Sportsmanship Award, and Brad McClelland won Most Improved Driver.

Jeff Rohrbaugh was honored as a second-time 358 Sprint car track champion as he picked up one win in 17 starts, but 12 top-10 finishes carried him to the title by 80 points over Billy Dietrich.

Billy Pauch Jr. was named Rookie of the Year, Niki Young won the Sportsmanship Award, and Nathan Berwager won Most Improved Driver.

Sam Gallagher was the 2011 Thundercar champion for his second career title. Gallagher will be moving into the 358 Late Models next season.

Gene Knaub won Lincoln’s 358 Late Model points title for the fourth-straight season.

Lincoln Speedway will kick off the local racing season with the Icebreaker 30 for 410 Sprints on Saturday, February 25, 2012.

The All-Star Circuit of Champions has announced that the University of Northwestern Ohio will be its title sponsor in 2012. The All-Stars will kick off its season on February 10-11 at Screvens Motor Speedway in Georgia, followed by races at Volusia Speedway Park on February 15-16. They will get a week off before more Florida Racing at Bubba Raceway Park February 23-25.

The World of Outlaws Sprints kicks off its season on February 17-19 at Volusia.

I’d like to wish everyone a safe and Happy Thanksgiving and hoping for a PSU win this weekend to take them to the first Big Ten

Return to top