2011-11-24 / Front Page

Write-Ins Decide Several Races

Final certification of votes was Monday
By Chanin Rotz-Mountz

Even though write-in votes appear to have been cast in about every race during the November 8 municipal election, preliminary election results reviewed by the Fulton County Board of Elections last Monday indicate six races in particular were decided in favor of write-in candidates.

Presiding as the Board of Elections, Gene Headley, Ellis Yingling and Donald “Pete” Culler spent November 14 reviewing votes cast by 30 percent of the county’s registered Democrats and Republicans. Results at that time included write-in candidates for the fourth and final position available on McConnellsburg Borough Council.

Fourteen candidates were penciled in by the borough’s voters on Election Day, with James “Mack” Shaffer receiving the largest amount of votes cast with three. Other vote recipients included Joshua Dean, Lee Rager and John Duffey with two each. Candidates receiving one write-in vote were Charles Dean, Jack Steele, John Mumma, Gene Stenger and James Smith.

Fulton County Chief Clerk and Director of Elections Daniel Swain told the “News” final certification was scheduled for Monday, November 21. As a follow-up to the certification process, he will mail letters to write-in candidates to determine if they are willing to accept the position. In many cases, Swain noted, the person who was elected will not accept the office.

Several townships had write-in votes cast due to vacancies on the ballot for the position of constable. In Taylor Township, Clem Malot received the lion’s share of the 20 votes cast with nine. Fellow candidates Lawrence Chilcote and Ellis Knepper each had two votes apiece, and Kevin Mountz, Clair Hawkins, Roger Sheffield, Marvin Kellogg, Jessie Marlin and Clifford Berkstresser each received one vote.

Thompson Township saw three votes written in for constable candidate James Haines in comparison to two votes for Bob Swadley. Kathy Kendall, Edward Younker, Tom Mellott, David Fant, Curtis Rine and Michael J. Hoffman received one vote each for constable.

Meanwhile, in Dublin Township, Stacie Keller, Francis Hoover, Rebecca Kendall, Trudy Fix and Bill Hall each garnered one writein vote for township auditor. In Union Township, the role of auditor could go to Gail Potter if she opts to accept the position. Two write-in votes were cast for Potter, and Alton Hoopengardner, Julia Hixon and Christine Reading each had one vote.

Forbes Road 2011 graduate Crystal Earley garnered two out of the eight write-in votes for the position of Wells Township auditor. Fellow write-in candidates Raymond Swank, Troy Ballinger, Rhonda Barnett, Shirley Hall, Ronda Barnett and Bill Anderson all had one vote in their favor.

Chief Clerk Swain said all election night results are online through the county’s Web site found at www.co.fulton.pa.us.

Return to top