2011-09-22 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Pat Cannon captured Saturday night’s 410 Sprint Car National Open at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Cannon finished second in the first 22-lap segment but won the second 22-lap segment to come out on top of the Jim Nace Memorial. It was the first 410 Sprint car win of the season for the Highlands Racing Team and was worth $6,000.

For the second-straight season, Cannon fell just one spot short of capturing the $14,000 bonus for winning both feature events.

Daryn Pittman, who was one of the 12 different drivers to break the one-lap track record in time trials, started the night out with fast time with a lap of 15.810 seconds.

Pittman then led all 22 laps to win the first segment in the win over Cannon, Greg Hodnett, Danny Dietrich and Chad Layton. Completing the top 10 were Dewease, Blane Heimbach, Fred Rahmer, Adam Wilt and Brian Leppo.

With the top-six finishers from the first race inverted for the second 22-lap feature, it was Dewease leading until Layton took the top spot.

Cannon came on strong from his fifth starting spot during the late stages of the race, taking second from Dewease on lap 37 and then storming by Layton a lap later for the top spot and drove off for the big win.

Layton, Dewease, Dietrich and Hodnett were the top-five finishers followed by Pittman, Leppo, Kevin Nouse, Mike Erdley and Brian Montieth.

Donnie Schick raced to his first win of the year in the 25-lap late model feature as he kept his 11 year winning streak alive by winning at least one feature per season. He won over Dave Zona, Jeff Rine, Steve Campbell and Gary Beward.

Young Trevor Feathers captured a career first win at Hagerstown Speedway as he won Saturday’s Late Model Sportsman portion of the Small Car Nationals.

Feathers earned $2,000 for the win over Scott Palmer, Mike Walls, Andy Fries and Andy Anderson, with Marvin Winters finishing sixth.

Mike Corbin won the Pure Stock portion of the SCM over Bill Henney, Brian Duffy, Doug Hoffman and Mike Franklin, while Tommy Whitt was the 4-cylinder winner over Richard Gwizdale, Ryan Laye, Stacy Crider and Kevin Thomas. Gary Proctor won the Hobby Stock cruiser portion, and Wendy Jessmer was the Powder Puff winner. Dana Winters finished fourth in that event

Carmen Perigo Jr. has always been in contention in the Sportsman 100 event for Super Sportsman over the years. But the Stoystown driver had never led the lap that counted. That was until Saturday night when Perigo scored his first career win in the biggest race of the season for the division and also gave Carlisle car owner Walt Bigler his first-ever win in the event. The win comes in the 60th anniversary season for Bigler Racing.

Perigo used a Lap 99 slide job on Frankie Herr to steal the lead and the win worth $4,000.

Herr finished second over Paul Miller, Scott Dellinger and Scott Geesey.

Gene Knaub captured his 16th overall win of the season in the 20-lap 358 Late Model feature and also clinched the 2011 Lincoln championship with his fourth track win of the year. He defeated DJ Mease, Grant Adams, Ralph Morgan and Carl Graves.

Daryn Pittman started sixth and took the lead on Lap 21 and drove to his firstever handicapped feature win Friday at Williams Grove Speedway. Ryan Bohlke finished second over Justin Henderson, Cory Haas and Chad Layton.

Carl Billet captured his third 358 Late Model win of the season Saturday at Susquehanna Speedway Park. Pancho Lawler finished second over Minnich, Randy Christine Jr. and Gary Potts while eighth-place finisher Justin Ehrhart clinched a career first SSP Late Model championship

Gene Knaub won Friday’s Thunder on the Hill 358 Late Model feature at Trail-way Speedway over Cam Ziegler, Bernie Beard, Bobby Beard and Mike Walls.

We’re back from an enjoyable time in Myrtle Beach as we look to finish out the racing season over the next month and hoping for a little more offense in Happy Valley beginning this weekend! Email Bvores@comcast.net.

Return to top