2011-08-25 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

It was a big weekend for Daryn Pittman in Central PA 410 Sprint car action as he came away with two feature wins on the weekend.

After a good showing a week ago at the Knoxville Nationals, Pittman gave car owner Mike Heffner a win in one of the Twin 20s Friday at Williams Grove Speedway and then came back strong for his first win of the season Saturday at Port Royal Speedway.

Pittman’s Grove win came over Brian Montieth, Brian Leppo, Fred Rahmer and Alan Krimes.

In the second Twin 20 at Williams Grove, Steve Buckwalter led all the way for his second win of the year over Aaron Ott, Lance Dewease, Leppo and Rahmer.

Saturday night’s Port Royal win was impressive for Pittman, as he rallied late to get around Lance Dewease, Rick Lafferty and Todd Shaffer to capture the 25-lap win. Dewease won a three- car photo finish for the runnerup spot over Ryan Taylor, Lafferty and Shaffer. Mike Wagner finished ninth.

Gary Beward captured his fourth Late Model feature win Saturday at Port Royal over Scott Haus, Mike Lupfer, Chad Hollenbeck and Waylon Wagner. Tim Fedder was 16th.

Brian Leppo returned to victory lane Saturday night at Lincoln Speedway with his second 25-lap 410-Sprint car win of the year over Adam Wilt, Kevin Nouse, Brad Mc- Clelland and Jim Siegel.

Mike Bittinger avoided a big crash on the start of the 20-lap 358 Sprint car main and then survived a few more crashes to end up in victory lane for the first time this season. He won over Keith Prutzman, Austin Hogue, Tim Wagaman and Jeff Rohrbaugh. Logan Wagner won his heat and then led the first eight laps of the feature before being spun out. He returned to finish eighth.

Ronnie Dehaven Jr. used late race lapped traffic to seize the top spot and drive away for the win in Saturday night’s Shorty Bowers/Bull Durham Late Model championship at Hagerstown Speedway.

Dehaven took the lead with five laps to go when race-long leader Ashley Barrett was mired in traffic. Once in front, the Winchester, Va., driver pulled away for his first win of the year over Barrett, Rusty Sites, points leader Roy Deese Jr. and Kyle Lear. Marvin Winters finished seventh, Tyler Hershey 10th, Frankie Plessinger 13th and Brent Smith 15th.

Chaz Walls captured a career first win in the Late Model Sportsman feature as he took the win over Mike Walls, Ronnie Dennis, Cody Lear and Scott Palmer.

Tony Catlett won for the second time in Pure Stock action over Steve Lowery and Eddie McClellan.

After running for another team all season, Camp Hill’s Rick Barr returned to the seat of his own Super Sportsman and quickly found victory lane Saturday night at Williams Grove Speedway. He won the 22-lap Super Sportsman feature over Carmen Perigo Jr., Frankie Herr, Russ Mitten and Scott Dellinger.

Todd Leonard captured a career first 20-lap 358 Late Model feature win over DJ Mease, Charlie Schaffer, Wes Alleman and Matt Nailor.

Ryan Kissinger came out on top of a thrilling four-car battle to capture his first career 25-lap 358 Sprint car win Saturday at Selinsgrove Speedway. Kissinger won by the slimmest of margins over Eric Tomecek, Logan Schuchart, Blane Heimbach and Duane Mausteller.

Jeff Rine captured his eighth win of the season in the 25-lap Late Model main and also took over the top spot in points with his 72nd career track win. Jim Yoder finished second over Brett Schadel, Eric Hons and Donnie Schick.

Hanover’s Cris Eash raced to his third 25-lap 358 Sprint car feature win Friday at Trail-Way Speedway. Eash missed a spectacular five-car crash that saw four cars flip, with one driver being sent to the hospital for observation, and scored the win over Matt Boland, Jeff Rohrbaugh, Steve Storrie and Austin Hogue.

Chris Knopp came out on top of the 25-lap 358 Late Model feature Saturday at Susquehanna Speedway Park, taking the win over Justin Ehrhart, Randy Christine Jr., Alex Updegraff and Coleby Frye.

That catches you up to date on another weekend of racing as we close in on September when many tracks will start having some big events to close out the season. Until next time, e-mail at Bvores@comcast.net.

Return to top