2011-07-07 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

For the 12th time in his career, Fred Rahmer is your Pennsylvania Sprint Speedweek champion.

The veteran driver put together a consistent week that saw him win zero times, but four fast-time awards coupled with six top-10 finishes were good enough for Rahmer to defeat Greg Hodnett by a mere 15 points for the title. Rahmer ended with 1,023 points, while Hodnett, the only repeat winner during the week had 1,008 points. Daryn Pittman (998), Tyler Walker (899) and Mark Smith (786) were the topfive point finishers.

Or course Speedweek kicked off on June 25 at Lincoln, where it was Cory Haas the winner, then Sunday, June 26, Daryn Pittman won the Bedford Speedweek show. Those results appeared in last week’s column.

Speedweek continued last Tuesday at Grandview Speedway, where Tyler Walker scored the feature win over Fred Rahmer, Daryn Pittman, Brian Montieth and Stevie Smith.

Wednesday at Hagerstown Speedway, it was Greg Hodnett coming home the feature winner ahead of Jason Johnson, Danny Dietrich, Alan Krimes and Tyler Walker. Mike Wagner was 13th.

Speedweek moved to Port Royal Speedway last Thursday, where Greg Hodnett turned in an impressive effort coming from 14th to score his second straight win of the series over Mark Smith, Lance Dewease, Todd Shaffer and Alan Krimes. Wagner finished 17th.

It was off to Williams Grove Speedway for Friday night’s Mitch Smith Memorial, where it was Alan Krimes capturing his firstever 410 Sprint car feature win at the Grove worth a cool $10,000. Greg Hodnett came on strong late for second over Brian Montieth, Danny Dietrich and Fred Rahmer. Wagner was 17th.

Saturday night saw the Speedweek series head back to Port Royal Speedway, where Justin Henderson blasted by Fred Rahmer with 10 laps to go and drove to the win over Daryn Pittman, Rahmer, Lance Dewease and Doug Esh. Mike Wagner finished 20th.

Speedweek came to an end Sunday night at Selinsgrove with Greg Hodnett once again showing he was the man to beat as he took the lead with 12 laps to go and drove off for the win, his third of the week. He defeated Daryn Pittman, Tyler Walker, Fred Rahmer and Doug Esh.

Jason Covert came away the winner of Saturday night’s Johnny Roberts Memorial for Late Models Saturday night. The win was Covert’s second straight at the track and came over Jerry Bard, Jim Bernheisel, Roy Deese Jr. and Duane Harbaugh. Marvin Winters was sixth, Frankie Plessinger 10th, Tyler Hershey 14th and Brent Smith 15th.

The Late Model sportsman and Pure Stock features were postponed after early evening rain pushed the show back.

Jan Luckenbaugh captured a career first 358 Sprint car main Saturday at Lincoln Speedway over Billy Dietrich, Isaac Sneeringer, Billy Pauch Jr. and Doug Hammaker. Logan Wagner finished 17th.

Bobby Beard captured the 358 Late Model feature at Lincoln over Cam Zeigler, Gene Knaub, Chase Billet and DJ Mease.

Kyle Reinhart was the PA 305 Sprint winner over Jeff Geiges, McConnellsburg’s Mark Watkins, Bryan Walker and Sean Campbell. Michael Wagner finished seventh and Logan Wagner 23rd.

Logan Schuchart captured a career first 358 Sprint car win at Selinsgrove Speedway Saturday night after he won the Firecracker 30. Schuchart defeated Pat Cannon, Colby Womer, TJ Stutts and Blane Heimbach.

Jeff Rine tied Bobby Croop as the track’s all-time leading Late Model winner with his 69th career win Saturday. Rine defeated Jim Yoder, Dave Zona, Steve Campbell and Dylan Yoder.

Paul Miller won Saturday’s Super Sportsman Firecracker

30 over Russ Mitten, Carmen Perigo, Scott Dellinger and Rick Barr.

Justin Ehrhart captured his third 358 Late Model feature Saturday at Susquehanna Speedway Park over Carl Billet, Randy Christine, Jr., John Moser Jr. and Jason Rochelle.

Jack Pencil came out on top of Friday night’s Three State Flyers Late Model series race at Bedford Speedway over Jason Covert, Dylan Yoder, Scott Lebarron and JT Spence, while Craig Perigo took the Limited Late Model win over Robbie Black, Tim Smith Jr. Grant Adams and Eric Irvin. Scott Daniels was 13th.

Zach Euculano picked up his first career 358 Sprint car win Friday night at Trail-Way Speedway over Randy Whisler, Jessie Morrison, Dale Hammaker and Cris Eash.

Bobby Hockenberry won Sunday’s Sportsman Tour race at Selinsgrove Speedway over Frankie Herr, Russ Mitten, Mike Enders and Carmen Perigo Jr.

Gary Beward was the Saturday night Late Model winner at Port Royal over Mike Lupfer, Scott Haus, Mitch Hack and Waylon Wagner.

Logan Wagner won another PA 305 Sprint car feature last Thursday at Susquehanna Speedway Park while brother Michael was third. Logan then finished seventh Friday at Clinton County Speedway.

That’s it for a busy week of racing as we get back to reality after 11 days off! Until next time, e-mail reaches me at Bvores@comcast.net.

Return to top