2011-05-12 / Local & State

FR Lions Club News

Approximately 150 children participated in Forbes Road Lions annual Easter egg hunt on April 23. Thanks to all kids and parents for their cooperation and the 27 Lions members who helped in making this event a success. Raffle winners were Dave Cutchall, Wyatt Hershey, Jason Wilson, Tammy Souders, Buck Fix, Reed Feight, Allen Ramsey, John Black, Steve Grissinger and BJC.

Everyone is invited to attend the pancake and sausage supper on May 14 at Hustontown Firehall. Special thanks to Detwiler Farms for donation of hogs for sausage and International House of Panckes in Hagerstown for donation of pancake batter.

The chicken barbecues are scheduled for Saturday, June 11 and August 13. Tickets are available from any Forbes Road Lions member.

Newly elected officers for 2011-2012 are Immediate Past President Mike Keebaugh; President Ed Mickey; First Vice President Greg Henry; Second Vice President Jarrod Sharpe; Third Vice President Clair Hawkins; Secretary Richard Price; Treasurer Joe Sharpe; Tail Twister Boyd Gelvin; Lion Tamer Chuck Knepper; and directors are Steve Grissinger, Jason Sharpe, Bob Johnson and Chet Colledge.

New members joining since last year are Jim Delaplaine, Randy Brantner and Boyd Gelvin. There are now have 75 members and all are welcome to join. Meetings are 6:30 p.m. on the first and third Tuesday of each month and beginning May 17 will be held at Lions Park behind Forbes Road Elementary School. Prospective members are welcome to attend.

Thanks to all who support Forbes Road Lions Club in any way. The Lions motto is “We Serve.”

Return to top