2011-05-12 / Front Page

Spring Primary This Tuesday

By Chanin Rotz-Mountz

Two months of campaign speeches and door-to-door visits will come to an end Tuesday when Fulton County’s registered voters head to the polls to nominate their party’s finest candidates during the May 17 primary election.

With a large selection of viable candidates having thrown their name into the hat for the position of Fulton County commissioner, both the Republican and Democratic parties are scheduled to nominate two individuals for final consideration in the November election.

Republican candidates listed on the May 17 ballot include home builder and business man Joseph M. Hagerty; local builder and former missionary Rodney L. McCray; former county EMA director Lisa K. Mellott-McConahy; former county auditor and farmer Ricky A. Leese; incumbent Commissioner Craig C. Cutchall; McConnellsburg Borough Council member Richard Buterbaugh II; and McConnellsburg Borough Mayor Michael L. Chilcote Sr.

Balancing out the Democratic ticket, voters will choose from local farmer and 2007 commissioner candidate Irvin Dasher; incumbent Commissioner David R. Hoover II; and McConnellsburg Borough Council President Travis O. Bard.

Incumbent Rebecca D. Kendall (R) of McConnellsburg and political newcomer Sandra “Sonnie” Stenger (R) are up for consideration for the position of county auditor. Meanwhile, Democrats Robert R. Messick of McConnellsburg and Ellen R. Wager, Harrisonville, are on their ticket for county auditor as well. Voters in each party are instructed to vote for no more than two candidates.

Magisterial District Judge Devin C. Horne of Hustontown has cross-filed on both Democrat and Republican tickets to retain his position in northern Fulton County. At the opposite end of Fulton County, an impending retirement of Magisterial District Judge Carol Jean Johnson has brought forth three potential candidates. Fulton County Public Defender Tamela Mellott Bard, Belfast Township Supervisor Richard Harr and Needmore resident Adrianne Leese-Gregory have cross-filed on both tickets for the vacant judicial position.

County Sheriff Keith B. Stains is seeking re-election on the Republican ticket, while Democratic contender Peggy Sue Bailey has also filed a petition for the spring election. Other county officials running unopposed at this time include District Attorney Travis Kendall (R), Treasurer Monica K. Seville (R) and Coroner Berley L. Souders (R)

School board races will also be a highlight during the 2011 election with incumbents and newcomers alike to be found on the May 17 ballot in the Central Fulton School District. Retired Fulton County chief probation officer Roger W. Strait crossfiled in hopes of joining the board of education, while incumbents Linda H. Garber, Cory L. Gress, Christopher R. Hann, Rick E. Marshall and Gary L. Shives are seeking reelection on both tickets.

At the Forbes Road School District, newcomers for five seats on the school board include former district superintendent Dr. Merrill Arnold; former board member Rheon Gelvin; retired, longtime elementary principal Byron Helsel; and concerned parent and Harrisonville resident Rodney C. Varney. All four candidates have cross-filed as have returning incumbents Teressa Bard and Karen A. Peffer. Fellow incumbent Deborah R. Strait has filed a petition as a Republican candidate.

Meanwhile, Dale Sigel and Sam Souders have cross-filed as potential candidates for the Southern Fulton School Board, where voters will also find Warfordsburg resident and parent David R. Smith II and incumbent Timothy A. Mellott as Republican candidates for office. Incumbents Dwight Bard and Danny Crouse have both crossfiled.

Candidates currently on the ballot for borough/township positions include:

 Marlin Harr (R), Ayr supervisor

 Rebecca D. Kendall (R), Ayr auditor

 John M. Keefer Jr. (R), Belfast supervisor

 W. Matthew Shives (D), Belfast supervisor

 Scott Smartt (R) Belfast supervisor

 Larry G. Mellott (R), Belfast auditor

 Charles A. Poole, (D), Bethel supervisor

 Ruthann Golden (R), Bethel auditor

 Robert T. Layton (D), Brush Creek supervisor

 Jean Remsburg (R), Brush Creek supervisor

 Diane E. Whiteside (D), Brush Creek auditor

 George W. Black (R), Dublin supervisor

 Iva L. Swindell (D), Licking Creek auditor

 Edwin E. Swope (R), Licking Creek supervisor

 Robert R. Messick (D) Licking Creek auditor

 Travis O. Bard (D), Mc- Connellsburg Borough Council

 Richard L. Buterbaugh II (R), McConnellsburg Borough Council

 David A. Washabaugh IV (R), McConnellsburg Borough Council

 Peggy Gordon-Headley (R), McConnellsburg Borough auditor

 Boyd W. Gelvin Sr. (D), Taylor supervisor

 John M. Black (R), Taylor supervisor

 Doris L. Knepper (R), Taylor auditor

 Martha Berkstresser (D), Taylor auditor

 D. Gene Mellott (D), Thompson supervisor

 Dorothy J. Hixon (R), Thompson auditor

 Mack M. Clevenger (R), Todd supervisor

 Kim R. Christian (D), Todd auditor

 Adriel F. Fletcher (R), Union supervisor

 Paul Schriever (R), Union supervisor

 Robert Shipley (R), Union supervisor

 Kaylie Oakman (R), Union tax collector

 Tina R. Ford (R), Wells supervisor

 Janis Helsel (R), Wells tax collector.

Residents interested in viewing candidates’ filing information can visit the county’s election page at http://www.co.fulton.pa.us/elections. php. Election results can be viewed online as they are tabulated by the Fulton County Election Board on election night.

Return to top