2011-05-05 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

The All-Star Circuit of Champions Sprint car series invaded central Pennsylvania over the weekend and like anytime they’ve come into the area in the past, they were dominated by the Posse! After Steve Buckwalter and Greg Hodnett won weekend ASCoC races at Williams Grove and Port Royal speedways, the streak remains alive that no All-Star regular has ever won at either track. Buckwalter won Friday’s Williams Grove event over Rick Lafferty, Alan Krimes, Curt Michael and Stevie Smith.

It was a big night at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday as the Bob Weikert Memorial was on tap with a possible $10,150 up for grabs. Greg Hodnett dominated the event and took home over $9,000 for his first win of the season. He defeated Dale Blaney, with Harrisonville’s Mike Wagner turning in a great run in the third spot over Justin Henderson and Lance Dewease. JT Spence won the first-ever Steel Block Bandits event Saturday at Hagerstown Speedway.

With a stout 52-car field on hand, Spence dominated the event run in memory of Greg Kerr. Spence earned $4,100 for the win over Kyle Lear, Walker Arthur, Tyler Armstrong and Bo Feathers.

Pat Cannon put a string of bad luck behind him Saturday at Selinsgrove Speedway, where he won the 358 Sprint car feature over Blane Heimbach, Cody Keller, Matt Horst and Larry Kelleher.

Jeff Rine captured his 66th career Selinsgrove Late Model win with his second 25-lap feature win of the year. Rine is only three wins away from being the all-time track win leader. He took the win over Tony Adams, Jim Yoder, Jeff Smith and Dave Zona.

Cory Haas raced to his third career 410 Sprint car win Saturday at Lincoln Speedway. He took the win over AdamWilt, Danny Dietrich, Bill Stine and Alan Krimes.

Adrian Shaffer won the makeup 20-lap 358 Sprint car feature that was rained out last week over Jeff Rohr-baugh, Logan Schuchart, Billy Dietrich and Dale Hammaker.

Former 410 Sprint car driver Joey Allen captured the win in the regular 20-lap 358 Sprint car feature over Matt Boland, Kyle Moody, Rohrbaugh and Dietrich. Logan Wagner did not qualify.

Paul Miller became the third different driver to win on the Super Sportsman tour this season as he raced to the win Saturday night at Williams Grove Speedway. Carmen Perigo Jr. finished second ahead of Russ Mitten, Frankie Herr and Mike Enders.

Gene Knaub made it two straight in Williams Grove 358 Late Model action as he came from his 12th starting spot for the impressive win over Charlie Schaffer, Bobby Beard, Travis Mease and Craig Wagaman. Justin Ehrhart won for the first time this season in Saturday night’s 25-lap 358 Late Model feature at Susquehanna Speedway Park, winning over Mark Billet, Carl Billet, Jake Lettich and John Moser Jr.

Arron Spahr celebrated his 19th birthday in fashion by capturing the 25-lap 358 Sprint car win Friday at Trail-Way Speedway. Spahr defeated Logan Schuchart, Tim Wagaman, Jeff Rohrbaugh and Dale Hammaker.

Scott Bloomquist won Friday night’s Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series feature at Bedford Speedway and the big $10,000 payday. It was his third straight win with the Lucas series as he scored the win over Steve Shaver, Jimmy Owens, Don O’Neal and Ray Cook. Jeremy Miller was the highest local finishing in the sixth spot.

Congratulations to Logan Wagner on his second PA 305 Sprint car win of the season after winning Friday night at Path Valley Speedway. He won earlier this season at Susquehanna Speedway. Logan will be the featured driver this week in my Carlisle Sentinel Racing This Week section. His profile appears at www.ijustwannarace.com.

This was the first weekend all season where every race track that was slated to race did just that. Finally Mother Nature gave us a break with some nice weekend weather despite the horrible and tragic weather last week around the nation.

Return to top