2011-04-14 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Gary Stuhler debuted with a new race team Saturday night at Hagerstown Speedway and wasted no time in taking that team to victory lane.

Stuhler led all 25 laps of the Late Model main to score his 129th career win at the Hub City oval in the No. 17 machine. He defeated Nick Dickson, Roy Deese Jr., Jim Bernheisel and Greg Satterlee, with Frankie Plessinger ninth, Tyler Hershey 10th, Marvin Winters 15th and Brent Smith 16th.

Kenny Moreland captured a career first Late Model Sportsman feature win over Steve Axtell Jr., Pete Weaver, Trevor Feathers and Glenn Elliott, while Kenny Dillon won the Pure Stock main over Dave Stouffer Jr., Steve Lowery, Drew Fitzsimmons and Charlie Pensinger.

Brian Montieth ended a month of dismal finishes with an exciting 15th-to-first performance in 410 Sprint action at Lincoln Speedway on Saturday night.

Montieth charged through the field to take the lead with two laps to go and defeated Brad McClelland, Alan Krimes, Derek Sell and Aaron Ott.

Billy Dietrich won the 358 Sprint car feature over Steve Owings, Tim Wagaman, Doug Hammaker and Chad Trout.

Steve Buckwalter won a career-first 410 Sprint car feature Saturday night at Port Royal Speedway after leading all 25 laps in the win over Ryan Taylor, Mike Erdley, Rick Lafferty and Lynton Jeffrey. Mike Wagner finished ninth.

Andy Haus won the Late Model feature over Mitch Hack, Matt Parks, Rick Singleton and Mike Lupfer as Tim Fedder was 22nd in the Cisney-owned Late Model.

Blane Heimbach made it two straight in Selinsgrove Speedway 358 Sprint car action Saturday night over TJ Stutts, Nate Snyder, Larry Kelleher and Logan Schuchart.

Jeff Rine was back to his winning ways in the Late Model opener at Selinsgrove, taking his 65th career win over Jim Yoder, Kenny Trevitz, Chad Hollenbach and Matt Cochran.

Rich Eichelberger opened the Saturday Night Series with a Super Sportsman win at Williams Grove Speedway over Frankie Herr, Scott Dellinger, Carmen Perigo Jr. and Dave Socks.

Gene Knaub scored the 358 Late Model win over Charlie Schaffer, Wes Alleman, DJ Mease and Pancho Lawler.

Daryn Pittman ran with the URC Sprint series Saturday and took the opening night win over Becca Anderson, JJ Grasso, Curt Michael and Eddie Wagner.

Coleby Frye was the opening night 358 Late Model winner at Susquehanna Speedway Park on Saturday taking the win over Steve Billet, Randy Christine Jr., Justin Ehrhart and John Moser Jr.

Harrisonville’s Logan Wagner won the opening PA 305 Sprint Series feature of the season at SSP, leading the final two laps for the win over Randy Kaylor, Scott Kershner, Matt Mountz and Joe Smith. Mark Watkins finished eighth.

SSP held a special 410 Sprint event Sunday night where Aaron Ott scored the flag-to-flag win over Danny Dietrich, Greg Hodnett, Brian Montieth and Mark Smith.

Friday night racing at Williams Grove Speedway was rained out for a third straight week while Trail- Way Speedway also was rained out Friday night.

That’s a wrap on this week. We hope the warmer temperatures and drier weather comes our way this weekend! Until then, e-mail me at Bvores@comcast.net.

Return to top