2011-02-17 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

The 410 Sprint cars finished up the Winternationals at Volusia Speedway Park with two All-Star-sanctioned events and three World of Outlaws events.

Sammy Swindell swept both nights of the All Stars at VSP as he scored the Wednesday night win over Craig Dollansky, David Gravel, Daryn Pittman and Greg Wilson. Stevie Smith was sixth, Fred Rahmer ninth, Lance Dewease 12th, Tyler Walker 17th, while Mark Smith, Aaron Ott, Greg Hodnett and Chad Layton failed to qualify.

Thursday night Swindell took the win over Stevie Smith, Cody Darrah, Dale Blaney and Kraig Kinser, with Pittman eighth, Hodnett 12th, Walker 15th, Rahmer 18th, Dewease 20th and Ott 21st, with M. Smith and Layton not qualifying.

The WoO Sprints were up next on Friday, where it was Steve Kinser setting back all of the young guns to open the WoO season in victory lane. He took the win over Swindell, Joey Saldana, Tim Shaffer and Paul McMahan, with Stevie Smith sixth, Pittman 10th, Hodnett 11th, Rahmer 17th and Dewease 27th, with Layton and Walker not qualifying.

After the top-two cars fell by the wayside late in Saturday night’s feature, Kinser was there to take advantage and take the win over Donny Schatz, Saldana, Jason Sides and Kraig Kinser, with Dewease seventh, Walker ninth, Rahmer 18th, Pittman 20th and Stevie Smith 24th, while Hodnett and Layton did not qualify.

In Sunday night’s finale, Jason Sides stopped Kinser’s winning streak by winning the final night at VSP ahead of Kinser, Fred Rahmer, Cody Darrah and Jason Meyers. Pittman was 13th, Walker 14th, Dewease 15th and Stevie Smith 21st, with Hodnett and Layton not qualifying.

The Late Models were in action across the state at East Bay Raceway Park for the DART Winternationals as Tyler Reddick scored the Wednesday night feature win over Scott Bloomquist, Steve Francis, Dan Schlieper and Don O’Neal.

Friday night saw Brad Neat score the Late Model win over Jimmy Owens, Dennis Erb Jr., Josh Richards and Don O’Neal, while Jimmy Owens won the Saturday afternoon feature over Bub McCool, Austin Hubbard, Eddie Carrier and Erb.

Tim McCreadie wrapped up the week of racing with a Saturday night win over Billy Moyer, O’Neal, Jason Feger and Owens. Scott Bloom-quist won the weeklong points.

The weather is warming up this week, so we will wait and see what next weekend brings as Lincoln Speedway is scheduled to kick off the 2011 racing season.

That’s a wrap on another week and as always e-mail at Bvores@comcast.net.

Return to top