2010-12-16 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

For the first time in his career, Big Cove Tannery Late Model racer Frankie Plessinger was honored as a Late Model track champion at Saturday night’s awards banquet for Hagerstown Speedway’s 2010 season.

Plessinger put together another consistent season and after a heart-breaking one point loss to Roy Deese for the 2009 track championship, Plessinger was 94 points to the good this season in his first career title in 27 years of racing. Plessinger had one win during the season in the Johnny Roberts Memorial.

Alan Sagi was points runnerup over Deese, Mercersburg’s Tyler Hershey and Mike Lupfer. Special Late Model awards went to Lupfer (Sportsmanship), Deese (Hard Luck) and Gary Stuhler (Best Appearing Car).

Pete Weaver also notched a career-first title in the Late Model Sportsman over Terry Flaherty, Wayne Walls Jr., Scott Palmer and Ashley Barrett. Special LMS Sportsman awards went to Donnie Farling (Sportsmanship), Richard Walls (Hard Luck) and Courtney Shreiner (Best Appearing Car).

Mike Warrenfeltz was the lone repeat champion in 2010 as he won his fifth career Pure Stock track title over Steve Lowery, Charlie Pensinger, Kenny Dillon and Dave Stouffer Jr. Pensinger (Sportsmanship), Darrin Younker (Hard Luck) and Danny Beavers (Best Appearing Car) won special awards.

Rodney Walls was named Rookie of the Year for the season, his first in the Late Model Sportsman division. He won one time.

Bill Potts was inducted into the Hagerstown Speedway Hall of Fame.

Hagerstown will kick off the season in late February.

The World of Outlaws Sprints and Late Model series released 2011 racing schedules at last week’s PRI Show in Florida, and the first thing that jumped out at us was the fact that Hagerstown Speedway, once know as the Capital of Dirt Track racing, is missing from the World of Outlaws Late Model schedule in 2011. There are still a few TBA dates left on the schedule, so maybe they are in the works, but it would be odd to have the track that has generated some of the best-ever Late Model racers left off the WoO schedule. Winchester and Bedford are both on the schedule in 2011.

There are no big surprises on the Sprint car side, but one local point of interest is that the May invasion at Williams Grove is now a Friday and Saturday show. It’s always been a Thursday/ Friday program, so that moves all Outlaw races at the Grove to Friday/Saturday programs now.

I’d like to wish each and everyone of my readers a very Merry Christmas and a safe and prosperous New Year. It’s been a good year, and we hope 2011 will be the same. We will see you in the 2011!

Return to top