2010-12-09 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Curt Michael and the Bill Gallagher owned team were honored Saturday night as the 2010 URC Sprint champions at its banquet in Lancaster.

The title was the second for Gallagher and an unprecedented seventh for Michael. It was also a first as Sean Michael, Curt’s brother, served as crew chief on the No. 5G. He was named Mechanic of the Year.

The team took home more than $12,000 in cash along with championship rings, trophy and the URC Perpetual Championship Cup.

Bill Unglert was named 2010 Rookie of the Year and had a feature win during the season.

Folks at the URC banquet were stunned when long-time sponsor Bars Leaks added an additional $20,000 to the 2011 URC point fund and pushed the winner’s share of the URC Rislone Sprint Nationals at Williams Grove Speedway to $5,000 to win.

URC also picked up a new sponsor for next season in Pioneer Pole Buildings and also announced that they will return to Port Royal Speedway for the first time in 2011 since last there in 1967. Their Port Royal date will be August 27.

Appalachian Mountain Late Model Speedweek will have a slightly different look next summer when it kicks off at Hagerstown Speedway on June 4. Winchester Speedway will host the second night of the Speedweek on June 5 and then the series will make the long travel to a new track on the schedule – Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex on June 6. Williams Grove will host the series June 7, followed by Lincoln, Port Royal and ending up at Bedford on June 10. Selinsgrove Speedway is no longer part of the Speedweek series. World of Outlaws regular Rick Eckert is the defending LM Speedweek champion.

The news just keeps coming from Port Royal Speedway with the new promotional team. Some great news out this week is that there will be a family section at the Port in 2011. The entire section “C” will be considered a family section and will be smoke- and alcoholfree. Kudos to the new management at Port Royal.

Williams Grove already announced that their grandstands will be smoke-free beginning in 2011, and there will be designated smoking areas around the facility. It’s about time!

Make sure you check out my Web site at www.ijustwannarace.com for the Best of 2010, ranking the top drivers from the past racing season.

That’s it for another week as the holidays are fast approaching. E-mail reaches me at Bvores@comcast.net.

Return to top