2010-10-21 / Sports

McMurray Night At Charlotte


CONCORD, N.C. – The night belonged to Jamie Mc- Murray.

Jamie McMurray drove by Kyle Busch with 21 laps to go after a restart on lap 314 of the 335-lap Bank of America 500 at Charlotte Saturday night, and went on to win his third Cup race of the season.

Busch had dominated the event, leading a racehigh 217 of 334 laps, but Mc- Murray was closing in on Busch’s rear bumper when the ninth and final caution waved on lap 310. When the race went green on lap 313, McMurray made his racewinning pass around Busch off turn 2 and never looked back, crossing the finish line 1.866 seconds ahead of Busch.

Jimmie Johnson and Denny Hamlin both dodged trouble and finished third and fourth, respectively, to set up a showdown Oct. 24 at Martinsville, a short track the two drivers have dominated the past four years.

Greg Biffle finished fifth, and Matt Kenseth, Joey Logano, Kevin Harvick, David Reutimann and David Ragan completed the top 10.

Polesitter Jeff Gordon had his share of trouble. On lap 191, one of Gordon’s batteries failed, and he lost a lap while switching to a second battery. Gordon got a free pass back to the lead lap after the caution flew for Marcos Ambrose spin, but he struggled the rest of the way.

Last week’s winner, Tony Stewart, came home 21st and lost touch with the championship battle. He and Kyle Busch are tied for fifth in the standings, 177 points behind Johnson.

Chase leaders after 31 of 36: 1. Johnson-5843, 2. Hamlin 5802, 3. Harvick-5766, 4. J. Gordon-5687, 5. Kyle Busch-5666, 6. Stewart-5666, 7. Edwards-5643, 8. Biffle- 5618, 9. Kurt Busch-5606, 10. Burton-5604, 11. Kenseth- 5587, 12. Bowyer-5543

Brad Keselowski picked up his first NASCAR Nationwide Series win at Charlotte, for his fifth victory of the season and the 11th of his career.

Martin Truex Jr. ran second, followed by Justin Allgaier, Joey Logano and polesitter Clint Bowyer, whose winning chances disappeared with a pit-road speeding penalty on his last stop. Kyle Busch, Reed Sorenson, Aric Almirola, Ryan Newman and Kevin Harvick completed the top 10.

Keselowski widened his lead in the NASCAR Nationwide standings to 450 points over 13th-place finisher Carl Edwards.

Top-10 leaders after 31 of 36: 1. Keselowski-4954, 2. Edwards 4504, 3. Kyle Busch- 4439, 4. Allgaier-4103, 5. Menard-3929, 6. Harvick- 3902, 7. Logano-3557, 8. Bayne-3503, 9. Leffler-3433, 10. S. Wallace-3427

Top-10 Camping World Truck Series leaders after 20 of 25: 1. Bodine-3196, 2. Almirola-2934, 3. Sauter- 2896, 4. Dillon-2808, 5. Peters- 2773, 6. Crafton-2773, 7. Hornaday 2687, 8. Skinner-2549, 9. Starr-2504, 10. Lofton-2379

NASCAR announced last week that the second class of inductees into the NASCAR Hall of Fame will be David Pearson, Bobby Allison, Lee Petty, Ned Jarrett and Bud Moore.

Also receiving votes were Dale Inman, Cale Yarborough and Darrell Waltrip.

Here were the 25 nominees for induction into the 2011 NASCAR Hall of Fame class:

Bobby Allison, Buck Baker, Red Byron, Richard Childress, Jerry Cook, Richie Evans, Tim Flock, Rick Hendrick, Jack Ingram, Dale Inman, Ned Jarrett, Fred Lorenzen, Bud Moore, Raymond Parks, Benny Parsons, David Pearson, Lee Petty, Fireball Roberts, T. Wayne Robertson, Herb Thomas, Curtis Turner, Darrell Waltrip, Joe Weatherly, Glen Wood and Cale Yarborough.

The Class of 2011 will be officially inducted in a ceremony in May 2011 at the NASCAR Hall of Fame in Charlotte.

Weekend racing: The Sprint Cup and Camping World truck teams are at Martinsville Speedway, the smallest track (.52-mile) on the NASCAR circuit, while the Nationwide Series will be at Gateway Speedway, just across the river from St. Louis.

Sat., Oct. 23, Camping World Truck Series Kroger 200, race 21 of 25; starting time: 12:30 p.m. ET; TV: Speed Channel.

Sat., Oct. 23, Nationwide Series Gateway 250, race 32 of 35; starting time: 3 p.m. ET; TV: ESPN2.

Sun., Oct. 24, Cup Series Tums 500, race 32 of 36; starting time: 1 p.m. ET; TV: ESPN.

Racing trivia question: Why did the U. S. Government ban automobile racing in July 1942?

Last week’s question: How many Cup wins did Earnhardt Sr. have? Answer. He had 76 wins and 676 starts.

You may contact the Racing Reporter at: hodgesnews@ earthlink.net

Return to top