2010-09-16 / Sports

Sheaffer Wins Legends Thriller

By Rob Keller

With the air temperature cooling, the track surface was in prime condition, and the racing was some of the most exciting action of the year Friday night at Path Valley Speedway.

Jay Horvath started on the pole of the 270cc Micro Sprint feature and took the early lead. Sean McAndrew started third and passed Levi Peck for second on lap 2. McAndrew then began looking for a way around the leader. It took McAndrew until lap 10 to finally make the pass for the lead just as they took the crossed flags. McAndrew led the remaining laps for his eighth win on Friday nights this year. Horvath held on to second while Sean’s brother, Ryan, came from starting 12th to finish third. Levi Peck finished fourth ahead of Matt McAnally. Ryan McAndrew and Horvath were heat race winners.

In the 4-Cylinder Thunder Car feature, Tom Crum started on the pole and led the way for the first 13 laps. D.J. Keefer started third, took second from Justin Rasp on lap 5, and made the winning pass on lap 14. The win is Keefer’s sixth this year. Jeremy Ott started 10th and had made his way to third on lap 7. Ott was closing the distance on the lead pair, but ran out of laps and settled for third. “Fireball” Bill Kennedy finished fourth and Justin Rasp fifth. Heat wins went to Keefer and Ott.

Tim Henry started second in the Legend Car feature and led the first lap. On lap 2 Geremey Sheaffer drove by to take command. On lap five several cars running near the front were involved in an accident in turn 4, including a rollover by Andy Lupfer. Lucas Montgomery restarted in fourth and was up to second when the second caution waved for a fire under the hood of Ed Wentz. Montgomery went to the high groove and was able to take the lead on lap 11. Sheaffer fought back and was leading again one lap later. While Sheaffer and Montgomery ran side-by-side Henry stayed right behind them. On lap 18 Henry drove underneath the lead pair exiting turn four and into the lead. But again, Sheaffer battled right back and made the winning pass on lap 19. Montgomery followed in second and Henry in third. Bill Diehl and Ferris Fraine completed the top five. Scott Houdeshell and Montgomery won the heat races.

Jim Brookens took the lead from Lance Newlin on lap 2 of the 600cc Micro Sprint feature. Brookens led the remaining distance to claim his fourth win of this season. The big event in this race came when both Jim Young and Jesse Fitz lost power, taking the white flag running second and third. They both coasted around the track the final lap and were passed by the remaining cars on the lead lap. Zach Newlin passed his brother, Lance, to take fourth on lap 18, and when Young and Fitz slowed was still ahead to finish second. Chandler Leiby finished fourth and John Baker fifth. The win by Brookens also ties him with Young for the lead in the race for the point championship. Heat wins went to Leiby and Young.

Ryan Laye started first in the Mini Stock feature but he was only able to lead the first lap. Mark Grove started third and took the lead from Laye on lap 2. Leroy Long dropped from second to fourth on the start, but was back into second on lap 10. Long then closed in on Grove and when they touched wheels exiting turn 4 Grove spunout, and Long inherited the lead. Long led the final three laps for his third win in Friday night action. Laye finished second, Grove rebounded to finish third, with Dave Friedrich in fourth and Frank Gordon fifth. Laye won the heat race.

Next weekend is a double header for Path Valley Speedway. On Friday, September 17, it will be a regular point race for the weekly four classes along with the 305 Sprints and Late Models. Then on Saturday, the track will host the annual Sprint Nationals, featuring 270cc and 600cc Micro Sprints, Sidewinders and 305 Sprints.

Return to top