2010-09-16 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

The 2010 racing season has been a good one for Brian Montieth.

Saturday night at Port Royal Speedway, the Phoenixville driver put on a clinic at the Juniata County oval and came away with his first-ever win in the Tuscarora 50.

Montieth, who also nearly won the track’s Dream Extreme race a month ago, was dominant in the season-ending event at the Port, leading all but six laps of the event en route to the $12,500 payday.

The 2010 Lincoln Speedway track champion started on the front row and immediately grabbed the lead over Lance Dewease.

A big crash on the 12th lap changed the complexion of the race when lapped car Dan Shetler spun directly in front of the leaders.

Montieth missed the spinning car, but second-running Lance Dewease, third-running Stevie Smith and fourth-running Greg Hodnett were all collected in the mess. Hodnett went to the pits for repairs and rejoined at the rear of the field.

Fred Rahmer, who won the B-Main, took the lead from Montieth following the lap 25 fuel stop but Montieth blasted back around Rahmer on the 32nd lap and drove off from Rahmer and the rest of the field.

Rahmer was second and Mike Erdley third. Hodnett, who won last year’s 50 lapper returned from the rear of the field to finish fourth ahead of Rick Lafferty, Tyler Walker, Danny Dietrich, Mark Smith, Todd Shaffer and Keith Kauffman.

Stevie Smith won the Friday night Night Before the 50 event over Dewease, Montieth, Brent Marks and Hodnett.

Scott Haus was the Friday night Late Model winner over Dylan Yoder, Mike Lupfer, Andy Haus and Waylon Wagner.

It was the final weekend for the Three State Flyers Late Model series with events at Bedford and Hagerstown speedways.

Jason Covert won Friday night at Bedford over Jeremy Miller, Chuck Cloise, Jack Pencil and JT Spence.

Action switched to Hagerstown on Saturday night as Thompson driver Dan Stone collected his 100th career Late Model win and his first of the year at Hagerstown in the 35-lap Late Model main.

Stone inherited the lead with six laps to go when Roy Deese Jr. broke.

Covert, Alan Sagi, Marvin Winters and Kyle Lear were the top-five finishers. Frankie Plessinger was sixth.

The Super Sportsman were in action at Hagerstown, where Rich Eichelberger took the win over Russ Mitten, Jay Fannasy, John Garman and John Stehman.

Scott Lebarron won the $2,000 top prize in the special top 20 in Three State flyer points as he took the win over Covert, Spence, DJ Myers and Sagi.

Blane Heimbach came out of a late race skirmish with leader Chad Trout to win the Friday night 20-lap 358 Sprint car feature at Williams Grove Speedway.

Trout had led until lap 18 when Heimbach made contact while attempting a slide job. Trout hit the wall and collected points leader Pat Cannon while Heimbach scored the win over Cory Haas, Scott Geesey, Kevin Nouse and Glenndon Forsythe.

Paul Miller won for the third time in Super Sportsman competition over John Stehman, John Garman, Frankie Herr and Rick Barr.

Gene Knaub collected his 12th overall win of the year with his Friday night 358 Late Model win at the Grove over Charlie Schaffer, Carl Billet, Wes Alleman and Craig Wagaman.

Chris Shuttlesworth raced to his first career 358 Sprint car win Saturday night at Lincoln Speedway.

It was also a first for young Logan Schuchart, who wrapped up his firstever Lincoln 358 Sprint track championship with a fourth-place finish.

Shuttlesworth out dueled Steve Owings for the win, with John Barnett, Schuchart and Forsythe the top-five finishers.

Schuchart and Dale Hammaker went into the night tied for the points lead, but it was the high school student finishing three spots ahead of the veteran for the title.

Phil Walter held off a last lap challenge from Pat Cannon to win his first 25-lap 358 Sprint car feature at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Walter became the 10th different winner at the track over Cannon, Kevin Nouse, Blane Heimbach and Derek Locke.

Jim Yoder took the lead from his son, Dyla,n late in the Late Model event to score his first win of the year over Dylan Yoder, Steve Campbell, Ryan Nearhood and Jeff Rine.

Bill Dietrich raced to his first 358 Sprint car win of the season Friday at Trail- Way Speedway over Doug Hammaker, Tim Wagaman, Aaron Spahr and Steve Owings.

Chris Knopp raced to his fourth win of the year Saturday night at Susquehanna Speedway Park over John Moser Jr., Justin Ehrhart, Charles Potts and Grant Adams.

McConnellsburg’s Mark Watkins was the PA 305 Sprint winner over Ryan Lynn, Nathan Gramely, Brian Walker and Logan Wagner. Michael Wagner finished 10th.

Billy Moyer completed a clean sweep of Eldora Speedway big Late Model races this season as he won Saturday’s World 100 at the track. Moyer won the Dream earlier this year, eanring him $143,000 in the two wins. Scott Bloomquist, Dale McDowell, Don O’Neal and Jimmy Owens were the top five with Rick Eckert ninth.

That’s it for this week as we enjoy a great week of vacation in Myrtle Beach, S.C. E-mail reaches me at Bvores@comcast.net.

Return to top