2010-09-09 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

J.T. Spence ended a twoyear winless drought Saturday night at Hagerstown Speedway, but it was Big Cove Tannery’s Frankie Plessinger capping of the season with his first career Late Model track championship.

Plessinger finished seventh in the feature, good enough to bring home the Late Model title by 94 points. Plessinger, who has been racing for 27 years, lost the 2009 track title by one point, so this one made up for that disappointment. Congratulations to the entire team on your well-deserved championship season!

Spence’s first win of the year came in the 25th annual McBee/Hays Championship event as he defeated Gary Stuhler for the big win. Alan Sagi, Dylan Yoder and Roy Deese Jr. were the top five. Tyler Hershey came from 17th to finish sixth. Marvin Winters finished eighth.

Rookie driver Justin Weaver won the Late Model sportsman feature over Richard Walls, Pete Weaver, Glenn Elliott and Paul Cursey.

Dave Stouffer Jr. won his second Pure Stock Main over Brian Miller and Danny Beavers.

It was vintage Don Kreitz Jr. Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway.

The former track cham- pion started 14th in the third feature of the Jack Gunn Memorial Triple 20’s and drove to the front in just 11 laps. Kreitz then drove off from the field to score his 54th career track win and the $5,000 payday in his Gunn Memorial title. Steve Buckwalter finished in the runner-up spot ahead of Mark Smith, Stevie Smith and Danny Dietrich.

Daryn Pittman won the first event of the Triple 20’s over S. Smith, M. Smith, Dietrich and Tyler Walker. Pittman took the lead on Lap 10.

Walker came back to win the second feature over Aaron Ott, Buckwalter, Chad Layton and M. Smith.

Daryn Pittman was awarded the $8,000 payday in Saturday night’s NRG Controls National Open for 360/358 Sprints at Selinsgrove Speedway after winner Pat Cannon’s car came up less than five pounds light at the scales in post race inspection. Davie Franek finished second ahead of Aaron Ott, Blane Heimbach and Mike Walter.

Keith Kauffman led all 25 laps of the 410 Sprint feature to capture his first win of the season Saturday at Port Royal Speedway. Kauffman’s win was his first since joining the Trone Outdoor Motorsports team and was his 128th career win at the Port. It came on the opening night of the Juniata County Fair. Todd Shaffer was second ahead of Greg Hodnett, Chad Layton and Tyler Walker. Mike Wagner finished eighth.

With his fourth-place finish, Layton clinched his first career Port Royal Speedway track championship.

Tim Wilson won his first 20-lap Late Model feature of the year over Terry Naugle, Jeff Rine, Gary Beward and Scott Haus.

Brian Montieth won the battle and the war Saturday night at Lincoln Speedway. He blasted his way from 12th to win the 25-lap 410 Sprint car feature and also clinched his third straight Lincoln Speedway Lawrence Chevrolet 410 Sprint track championship.

Montieth took the lead on Lap 11 and drove off for his 20th career track win and eighth overall this season over Alan Krimes, Brad Mc- Clelland, Derek Sell and Brent Marks.

Duaine Smith won his first Super Sportsman feature of the year after taking the Tour win Saturday at Lincoln. John Garman, Scott Dellinger, Eric Eckert and Rich Eichelberger completed the top five.

Travis Beaver won the 358 Late Model feature over Mike Goodwin, Craig Wagaman, Mike Walls and DJ Mease.

Gene Knaub made it three wins in five starts in 358 Late Model action at Trail- Way Speedway Friday night with the win over Steve Billet, Carl Billet, Charles Potts and Chaz Walls.

Friday night racing at Bedford Speedway was rained out and the track point season is over, with Jeff Rine winning the Late Model point title and Rick Singleton winning the Limited Late Model season title.

Larry Baer scored his fourth 358 Late Model win Saturday at Susquehanna Speedway Park. Baer, who leads the track points, won the 32-lap York County Nationals event over Carl Billet, Chris Knopp, Justin Ehrhart and Sterling Kinard.

Williams Grove Speedway was in action Sunday night for the Billy Kimmel Memorial for the 410 Sprints as Cory Haas picked up his firstever Williams Grove 410 sprint win over Aaron Ott, Brian Leppo, Brent Marks and Tyler Walker.

Pat Cannon won for the 15th time this season in the 358 Sprints over Logan Schuchart, Eric Tomecek, TJ Stutts and Glenndon Forsythe, while Bobby Hockenberry won the Super Sportsman feature over Russ Mitten, Mike Enders, Frankie Herr and Jay Fannasy.

It was the annual Labor Day Classic Monday at Port Royal Speedway, where Daryn Pittman notched his first career win at the track over Chad Layton, Mike Wagner, Justin Henderson and Todd Shaffer.

Scott Haus led all 20 laps to win the Late Model main over Dylan Yoder, Tim Wilson, Gary Beward and Waylon Wagner.

E-mail reaches me at Bvores@comcast.net.

Return to top