2010-08-26 / Sports

Path Valley Speedway Results

By Rob Keller

Justin Rasp was the 4-Cylinder Thunder Car winner August 21 at Path Valley. Justin Rasp was the 4-Cylinder Thunder Car winner August 21 at Path Valley. It has been a year of first-time winners in the Late Model division at Path Valley. After Friday night, there have been four different drivers make their first trip to victory lane since switching from other divisions to run a Late Model.

Tyler Walton of Mifflintown started on the pole and led all 20 laps for his seventh feature win this year in the 600cc Micro Sprint class. Jesse Fitz started and finished second, holding off Jim Young over the closing laps. Zach Newlin finished fourth and Lance Newlin in fifth.

Steve Whary of Lebanon started second and out-gunned polesitter Don Sotosky to take the lead at the drop of the green in the PA Sprint Series 305 Sprint Car feature. That proved to be the winning move as Whary led all 20 laps for his second win at Path Valley this year. Sotosky finished second, showing strong improvement in his third start. Joe Smith drove by “Cowboy” Jim Kennedy with one lap remaining to finish third.

D.J. Keefer of McConnellsburg earned his division leading fifth win of the year as he started first and led every lap of the 4- cylinder Thunder Car feature. Keefer was under strong pressure through most of the event, which included six cautions. Keefer held off Tom Crum and John Rasp the final five laps. Denny Scofield finished fourth and Josh Walstrum fifth.

Dave Leidy Jr. of Neelyton moved up to the Late Model division from the Mini Stocks two years ago. The first two years were a struggle, including breaking his wrist both years. Friday night his perseverance was rewarded with his first win in a Late Model. Leidy started first and led all 20 laps. This was Leidy’s first start at Path Valley in a Late Model this year, and he won his only other visit early in the year in a Mini Stock. Kris Eaton finished second in his first start at Path Valley. Josh Berrier was third in his first start this year, and Moe Harden finished fourth, also in his first appearance at Path Valley.

Kenny Hill of Blairs Mills earned his first win at Path Valley this year, starting first and leading all 20 laps of the Mini Stock feature. Hill was pressured most of the way by Gary Dehart and won by only a car length. Gary Newell was also in contention, finishing right behind Dehart in third. Jeremy Ott finished fourth and point leader Leroy Long fifth.

Chad Thomas started second in the 270cc Micro Sprint feature and led the first nine laps. Sean McAndrew of Apollo was running second when the caution flag waved on Lap 9. During the caution McAndrew made some adjustments from the cockpit that paid off. McAndrew passed Thomas right before the halfway point and led the rest of the way for his seventh win on Friday nights at Path Valley. Thomas held on to second, in his first start at Path Valley this year. Ryan McAndrew passed Levi Peck with one lap to go, taking the third spot, and Bryce Stevens finished fifth.

The night’s racing action was sponsored by George’s Used Cars and all the feature winners were presented a trophy commemorating their victory. Next Friday night it will be Melvin’s Auto Repair night, which includes many special activities for the fans. It will be a six-division show with the Sidewinders and Legend Cars joining the weekly four classes.

Return to top