2010-08-05 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Brian Montieth made an exciting late race charge to win Friday’s 410 Sprint feature at Williams Grove Speedway.

Montieth put a slide job on Keith Kauffman on the 24th lap to steal the win from Kauffman, with Greg Hodnett, Adam Wilt and Brent Marks the top-five finishers.

Pat Cannon came from 12th to win his fourth 358 Sprint car main over Kevin Nouse, Scott Geesey, Jay Reichard and Blane Heimbach.

Lance Dewease used a late race restart to grab the lead from Alan Krimes and went on to win the Weldon Sterner Memorial for 410 Sprints Saturday at Lincoln Speedway. Dewease’s win was his seventh of the season and was worth $4,000. He beat Daryn Pittman, Krimes, Marks and Wilt.

Chris Arnold gave himself a great 26th birthday gift with his first career 358 Sprint car win over Tim Berkheimer, Logan Schuchart, Bill Dietrich and Ted Thomas.

Rick Lafferty took advantage of two early race leaders’ bad luck to win Saturday’s 410 Sprint main at Port Royal Speedway. He won over Joey Hershey, who now has three runner-up finishes this season, Mike Wagner, Cliff Brian and Mike Erdley.

Waylon Wagner won the Late Model feature over Gary Beward, Tim Wilson, Mitch Hack and Scott Haus, while Andy Haus won the makeup Late Model feature that was rained out on July 17 over his father, Scott, Waylon Wagner, Tim Wilson and Mitch Hack.

Dan Schlieper came out on top of Saturday night’s Lucas Oil Late Model series event at Hagerstown Speedway after taking control on Lap 16 and driving to the $10,000 win over Don O’Neal, Dan Stone, Scott Bloomquist and John Blankenship. Frankie Plessinger finished 20th, while Tyler Hershey and Marvin Winters did not qualify.

Mike Warrenfeltz won a seventh Pure Stock feature at Hagerstown over Kevin Koontz, Drew Fitzsimmons, Darrin Younker and Charlie Pensinger.

Greg Fetters captured his first win of the season Friday at Bedford Speedway in the 25-lap Late Model feature. He won over Andy Anderson, Jack Pencil, Scott Haus and Matt Parks, while Mike Altobelli Jr. won the Limited Late Models over Robbie Black, DJ Troutman, Rick Singleton and Ashley Barrett.

Aaron Eichelberger won for the first time this season in Super Sportsman action Saturday at Williams Grove Speedway. He took the win over Rick Barr, Frankie Herr, Rich Eichelberger and Dave Berkheimer.

Gene Knaub made it four wins in Grove 358 Late Model action over Bobby Beard, John Ebersole, Roy Miller and Craig Wagaman.

Justin Ehrhart captured his first win of the year in 358 Late Model action at Susquehanna Speedway Park on Saturday night as he won over Jake Jones, Tommy Slanker, Larry Baer and Chris Knopp.

Brad McClelland took his 24th career and fourth of the season in Friday night 358 Sprint car action at Trail-Way Speedway. He won over Michael Ruttcamp, Joe Trone Jr., Trevor Little and Keith Prutzman.

Pat Cannon continued his domination over the 358 Sprint car ranks with another win Saturday at Selinsgrove Speedway. The win was Cannon’s 11th overall of the season, and it came over Matt Heimbach, Larry Kelleher, Blane Heimbach and Nate Snyder.

Jeff Rine won the makeup 30-lap Late Model championship over Donnie Schick, Steve Campbell, Kyle Rhoads and Dave Zona. Schick came back to win the regular Late Model feature over Campbell, Rhoads, Ken Trevitz and Tony Adams.

That’s a wrap as we bring an end to July. Man, where has time gone! Port Royal headlines this weekend’s racing with the Jim Nace Memorial/Dream Extreme for 410 Sprints paying $15,000 to win. E-mail me at Bvores@comcast.net.

Return to top