2010-08-05 / Sports

Path Valley Speedway News

By Rob Keller

Tyler Walton started third in the 600cc Micro Sprint feature and when the green dropped Walton dropped low and beat the front row of Al Potosky and Chandler Leiby to turn one for the lead. Timmie Barrick started fifth and followed Walton to the front, moving into second on Lap 1. Only one caution slowed the event on Lap 4 and at the finish Walton led Barrick by nearly a full straightaway. Jim Young came from starting 12th to finish third, ahead of Jake Murphy and Jesse Fitz. Murphy won the heat race.

Dave Freidrich started on the pole and led the first six laps of the Mini Stock feature. The only caution came on Lap 6 and one lap later Frank Gordon powered by Freidrich for the lead. Gordon slowed over the final few laps when his air filter came off, but Mark Grove was still about three car lengths behind when the checkers fell. Gary Newell and Jeremy Ott swapped positions throughout the race, with Newell finishing third and Ott in fourth.

Lucas Montgomery has been running near the front of nearly every Legend Car race at Path Valley this year. But he remained winless until now. Montgomery started fifth and was up to second for a restart on Lap 9. On the restart Montgomery passed polesitter Bill Diehl, which proved to be the winning move. Montgomery held off Diehl on six restarts over the final five laps for the win. Jason Ewing finished third, Geremey Sheaffer fourth and Greg Burd in fifth.

The Super Stock drivers normally run Saturday nights at Path Valley but are given a few shows on the Friday night programs. This was one of those weeks and nine racers signed in. Adam Imes started on the pole and led the first 13 laps. Gary Dehart started sixth and picked his way to the front, taking the lead on Lap 14. A restart with two laps to go changed everything. Imes dove inside Dehart on the restart and as they struggled for control, Dehart spun on the front stretch, collecting three others in the incident. Craig Imes inherited the lead on the restart and led the last two laps for the win. Johnny Palm finished second in his debut at Path Valley and Bryan Neff finished third in his first run in a Super Stock. Adam Imes and Dehart returned to finish fourth and fifth.

Ryan McAndrew started fourth in the 270cc Micro Sprint feature and was into second on Lap 2. Jason Houtz started first and led until McAndrew got by on Lap 14. McAndrew then pulled away by several car lengths for his fourth win in 2010. Houtz then had to fend off Sean McAndrew for second and was able to do so by less than a car length at the finish. Levi Peck finished fourth and Bryce Stevens in fifth.

If “rubbing is racing” is true, the 4-Cylinder Thunder Car had plenty of racing. A three-car wreck on Lap 2 was a precursor to all the bent sheet metal and flat tires that followed. Tyler Adams started third and led the first four laps. Tom Crum passed Adams on Lap 5 and was still leading when his left rear tire started losing air. Adams regained the lead on Lap 15 and held off D.J. Keefer the final five laps for his second win this year. Third through fifth went to John Rasp, Rusty Garlock, and Shawn Tiedt.

Path Valley Speedway returns to action Friday night, August 6. The racing that night will be sponsored by Goshorn Racing Supply and will feature the 305 Sprints and Late Models along with the weekly four divisions.

Return to top