2010-08-05 / Sports

Biffle Brings Ford To Victory Lane

By Gerald Hodges

Greg Biffle Greg Biffle POCONO, Pa. – Greg Biffle, who hadn’t won a Cup race since 2008 took Sunday’s Pennsylvania 500 to give Ford its first win of the season.

“It was the engine,” said Biffle, who finished nearly 4- seconds ahead of runner-up Tony Stewart. “The engine was so strong. The car wasn’t too good early on, but the team never gave up.”

“It’s been tough getting this win.”

A wreck involving the No. 2 driven by Kurt Busch and the No. 19 of Elliott Sadler brought out a red flag with 35 laps remaining in the 200-lap race.

It apparently was triggered by Jimmie Johnson, who was attempting to bump draft off the rear of Kurt Busch.

Both cars were completely totaled. The motor of Sadler’s No. 19 was knocked completely out and came to rest about 100 feet from where his car stopped.

NASCAR stopped the race for more than 20 minutes for cleanup crews to remove the debris and dirt from the track.

All the cars pitted for fresh tires and fuel. Biffle’s team elected to put on only two fresh ones, while several others took four. Biffle returned to the track in the second spot.

There were 22-laps left when green-flag racing resumed. Sam Hornish was the leader, followed by Biffle, Mark Martin and Carl edwards.

Biffle quickly got by Hornish and began to distance himself from the the rest of the field.

Carl Edwards finished a strong second in another Ford.

Kevin Harvick, Denny Hamlin, Jeff Gordon, Mark Martin, Jeff Burton, Martin Truex and Jimmie Johnson were the remaining top-10 finishers.

Top-15 Chase drivers. Only 12 will be eligible for the 10-race Chase that begins in four more races. 1. Harvick- 3080, 2. J. Gordon-2891, 3. Hamlin-2820, 4. Johnson- 2803, 5. Burton-2757, 6. Kyle Busch-2724, 7. Kurt Busch- 2722, 8. Stewart-2719, 9. Kenseth-2682, 10. Edwards- 2666, 11. Biffle-2652, 12. Bowyer-2564, 13. Martin- 2530, 14. Earnhardt-2435, 15. Newman-2426

Kyle Busch gets ninth Nationwidw win

Kyle Busch won his ninth Nationwide race of 2010, his sixth in his last seven starts and 39th of his career by dominating the U.S. Cellular 250 in front of a packed grandstand at Iowa Speedway.

The remaining top-10 finishers were Kevin Harvick, Jason Leffler, Brad Keselowski, Trevor Bayne, Steven Wallace, Michael Annett, Justin Allgaier, Matt Dibenedetto, and Carl Edwards.

Top-10 points leaders after 21 of 35: 1. Keselowski- 3349, 2. Edwards-3118, 3. Kyle Busch-2876, 4. Allgaier-2833, 5. Menard-2620, 6. Harvick- 2609, 7. S. Wallace-2488, 8. Bayne-2365, 9. Gaughan- 2347, 10. Leffler-2326

Top-10 Truck points leaders after 13 of 25: 1. Bodine- 1993, 2. Almirola-1844, 3. Sauter-1800, 4. Peters-1791, 5. Crafton-1748, 6. Dillon- 1730, 7. Hornaday-1725, 8. Skinner-1724, 9. Starr-1652, 10. White-1627

E-mail us your take on NASCAR’s recent actions toward Hamlin and Newman. If we use your comments, we’ll send you an 8X10 of your favorite driver.

Weekend racing: The Sprint Cup and Nationwide teams are at the 12-turn road course at Watkins Glen, N.Y., while the Camping World Trucks are at the 1.5-mile Nashville Superspeedway.

Sat., Aug. 7, Nationwide Series Zippo 200, race 22 of 35; Starting time: 1:30 p.m. ET; TV: ESPN2.

Sat., Aug 7, Camping World Series Tennessee 200, race 14 of 25; Starting time: 8:00 p.m. ET; TV: Speed.

Sun., Aug. 8, Sprint Cup Heluva Good Sour Cream Dip, race 22 of 36; Starting time: 1 p.m. ET; TV: ESPN.

Racing trivia question: Where is Robby Gordon’s home state?

Last week’s question: Who was the 2005 Sprint Cup champion? Answer. It was Tony Stewart.

You may contact the Racing Reporter at: hodgesnews@ earthlink.net

Return to top