2010-07-22 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Alan Sagi ended a near three-year winless spell at Hagerstown Speedway as he won the Late Model feature Saturday night.

Sagi took the lead on Lap 8 and never looked back in his win over Mercersburg’s Tyler Hershey, Roy Deese Jr., and McConnellsburg drivers Frankie Plessinger and Marvin Winters.

Kyle Lear made it three straight wins in Late Model Sportsman action as he drove from 12th to win the Bill Bowman Memorial over Pete Weaver, Terry Flaherty, Justin Weaver and Ashley Barrett.

Danny Beavers won the Pure Stocks over Steve Lowery, Mike Warrenfeltz, Kenny Dillon and Brian Miller, while Krazy Kenny Thomas won the Enduro Dash.

Brian Montieth put on a clinic Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway, coming from 17th to win the Outlaw Tuneup for 410 Sprints over Greg Hodnett, Lance Dewease, Danny Dietrich and Brian Leppo.

Chad Trout won the 358 Sprint car feature over Pat Cannon, Logan Schuchart, Jason Shultz and Kyle Moody.

Doug Esh came out on top of a wild four-car battle to win Saturday’s 410 Sprint car feature Saturday at Lincoln Speedway. Esh won over Dietrich, Montieth, Alan Krimes and Mark Smith.

The URC Sprints were in action at Lincoln, where it was Mark Bitner scoring the win over Nick Schlauch Jr., Josh Weller, Kevin Nouse and Curt Michael.

Greg Hodnett was back in victory lane Saturday night at Port Royal Speedway after his fourth 410 Sprint car win of the year over Craig Robinson, Ryan Taylor, Mike Wagner and Chad Layton.

Port’s Late Model and 305 Sprint car features were both postponed due to rain and curfew.

Davie Franek ended a five-year winless draught with a win in 358 Sprint car action Saturday at Selinsgrove Speedway. Franek won over Matt Horst, Josh Beard, Jason Shultz and Blane Heimbach.

Jeff Rine was back to his winning ways at Selinsgrove taking his sixth Late Model win of the year over Jim Yoder, Donnie Schick, Tony Adams and Steve Campbell.

Randy Christine Jr. won for the first time this season in 358 Late Model action at Susquehanna Speedway over Bob Minnich, Larry Baer, John Moser Jr. and Randy Kissinger.

Russ Mitten captured his second Super Sportsman feature win Saturday at Williams Grove Speedway over Gregg Foster, Jason Fry, Rich Eichelberger and Duaine Smith.

Cody Fairchok gave himself a great 17th birthday present as he captured his first-ever 358 Late Model feature win at Williams Grove. He defeated Gene Knaub, Duane Harbaugh, Charlie Schaffer and Roy Miller.

Jason Fry won the Super Sportsman main Friday night at Bedford Speedway over Rich Eichelberger, Russ Mitten, Carmen Perigo and Mike Enders.

For the second time this season, Coleby Frye won the Bedford Late Model feature over Jeremy Miller, Jeff Rine, Jack Pencil and Matt Parks. Brian Lessley was the Limited Late Model winner over Daniel Cornman, Matt Howsare, Robbie Black and Tim Smith Jr.

Jeremy Miller won the UFO Supernational Road 40 for Late Models Saturday night at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex over Jamie Lathroum, Jared Miley, Jared Hawkins and Keith Jackson.

Steve Kinser used a final lap restart to take the win in the Kings Royal for 410 Sprints at Eldora Speedway. It was Kinser’s seventh career $50,000 Kings Royal payday and it came over Kerry Madsen and Danny Lasoski.

That’s a wrap on another week of racing as the World of Outlaws invades Williams Grove Friday and Saturday for the Summer Nationals. E-mail reaches me at Bvores@comcast.net.

Return to top