2010-06-17 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

The second annual Century Link Appalachian Mountain Late Model Speedweek series is now history as York’s Rick Eckert came out on top of the week as the series champion and took home the lion’s share of the near $10,000 posted Speedweek point fund.

Eckert won the 2010 Century Link Late Model Speedweek championship with 714 total points over Miller ( 655), Nick Dickson (550), Frye (495), Jason Covert (488), DJ Myers (460), Lathroum (434) and Rine (423). The top eight drivers earned point fund money.

Speedweek kicked off with a rainout last Saturday at Hagerstown. Then Sunday night Nick Dickson won at Selinsgrove, while Monday night saw Eckert score his lone win of the week at Winchester Speedway over Josh Richards, Jason Covert, Jimmy Mars and Keith Jackson. Frankie Plessinger finished ninth.

Gary Stuhler won the Appalachian Mountain Late Model Speedweek event Tuesday night at Williams Grove Speedway over Keith Jackson, Vic Coffey, DJ Myers and Jimmy Mars. Plessinger was 18th and Tyler Hershey 25th.

Lincoln Speedway’s Late Model Speedweek event was rained out on Wednesday night for the second straight season. The race will be made up, but not part of the Speedweek series.

Jeremy Miller waited out a long night on Thursday to win the Speedweek event at Port Royal Speedway.

Miller took control late in the event and held off Jeff Rine, Rick Eckert, Jamie Lathroum and Jason Covert. Hershey was 16th.

Rick Singleton won in a photo finish in the 20-lap 358 Late Model main at the Port over Pete Weaver, Justin Kann, Andy Fries and Bobby Beard.

Coleby Frye came out on top of a wild late race battle with Jeremy Miller to claim Friday night’s Appalachian Mountain Late Model Speedweek finale at Bedford Speedway.

Frye started on the pole and led early, but Miller was applying pressure throughout the event and several times over the final two laps, the two made heavy contact, with Miller keeping his car under control but falling short at the checkered flag.

Miller, along with his team, expressed displeasure with the track for not finding rough riding an issue with Frye’s last lap.

Frye took the $5,000 payday over Miller, Vic Coffey, Derek Byler, Rick Eckert, DJ Myers, Darryl Hills, Jack Pencil, Jamie Lathroum and Jeff Rine.

Stevie Smith nipped his brother-in-law, Brian Leppo, to win Friday’s All-Star Sprint feature at Williams Grove Speedway. Smith’s win came by just .022 seconds over Leppo, who led the entire race only to get held up by a slower car on the final lap. Brian Montieth, Daryn Pittman and Fred Rahmer were the top- five finishers.

Pat Cannon used a last lap pass on Blane Heimbach to win his third 358 Sprint car feature Saturday at Selinsgrove Speedway. Heimbach, Larry Kelleher, Nate Snyder and Phil Walter were the top-five finishers.

After his Friday win, Coleby Frye came back strong Saturday and lapped the entire field in his first Late Model win of the year at Selinsgrove. Frye defeated Jeff Smith, Ken Trevitz, James Cornell and Kyle Rhoads. Waiting out a threehour rain delay, Brian Montieth won Saturday’s All-Star Sprint main at Lincoln Speedway over Brian Leppo, Fred Rahmer, Aaron Ott and Daryn Pittman. The race ended just before 2:30 a.m.

Steve Storrie captured a career-first 358 Sprint car win at Lincoln over Scott Geesey, Kyle Moody, Logan Schuchart and Jeff Rohrbaugh.

Brad McClelland won his third 358 Sprint main Friday at Trail-Way Speedway over Logan Schuchart, Kyle Moody, Tim Wagaman and Scott Geesey.

In other weekend action, Pat Cannon won Sundays 358 Sprint car main at Susquehanna over Cory Haas and Kyle Moody, while Billy Moyer won Sunday’s Dream 100 at Eldora Speedway.

Saturday night racing at Port Royal, Susquehanna and Hagerstown speedways was all rained out as was Sunday night’s All-Star sanctioned event at Big Diamond Raceway.

That’s it for this week and as always email reaches me at Bvores@comcast.net

Return to top