2010-06-10 / Local & State

Forbes Graduates Twenty-Nine

Retired principal David Hoover II serves as keynote speaker
By Chanin Rotz-Mountz STAFF WRITER

Forbes Road senior Latisha Eichelberger (right) helps classmate Kolby Buterbaugh adjust his special honor cords just prior to graduation ceremonies held last Wednesday evening. The district graduated a total of 29 students. Forbes Road senior Latisha Eichelberger (right) helps classmate Kolby Buterbaugh adjust his special honor cords just prior to graduation ceremonies held last Wednesday evening. The district graduated a total of 29 students. Even though a “lot of water has gone over the dam” since graduating high school, retired Forbes Road Elementary principal David Hoover II shared some words of wisdom and guidance with the Class of 2010 last Wednesday during commencement exercises.

Having held a total of 12 paying jobs over the years ranging from mowing grass to his current position of Fulton County commissioner, Hoover suggested to the graduates when pondering what to do now they should “listen and take guidance.”

Now armed with a “heck of an education” given by the best teachers in the world from the best school in northern Fulton County, Hoover told the senior class to continue building on their existing foundation by becoming community volunteers, be anything they want to be and to reach for the stars.

“You have the responsibility to change and do what you want to do,” said Hoover. “ ... Reach for the stars ... and be the best in whatever you decide to be.”

Turning his sights on the parents, grandparents and friends in the audience, Hoover asked what will happen when the seniors leave for college, the military or for a job. He concluded the audience should support and encourage them whether it is through visits, talking, writing or texting.

Following a greeting and brief message by class President Raven Whitman, salutatorian Amber Bookheimer took the podium and reflected on her time at Forbes Road, which began when she entered the 10th grade in 2008. Accustomed to larger class sizes, Bookheimer said she was surprised to find her smallest class had just three students.

Bookheimer also stated that within days of her arrival she was able to make many new friends. “As Dale Carnegie once said, ‘You can make more friends in two months by becoming interested in other people than you can in two years by trying to make others become interested in you,’” quoted the class salutatorian.

She said Forbes Road was instrumental in leaving her with knowledge she will continue to utilize over the years. But even in encountering difficult times in the future, Bookheimer suggested not giving up and working even harder toward your goal.

“Although my life will contain sadness and heartbreak, it will also hold joy, love and success. I know my classmates will too. Don’t look back with regret, my friends, look forward and smile,” she concluded.

Meanwhile, Kaylyn Moore, class valedictorian, said Forbes Road gave her class many opportunities they may not have had in a larger school setting. “We have been able to encourage and support each other in and out of school over the years,” said Moore, who has plans to attend the University of South Dakota.

“As we leave here tonight and go our separate ways, we need to remember we are all here to make a difference ... I am grateful to all of you who have made a difference in my life,” Moore stated.

Heading up an extensive presentation of awards to the seniors, high school Principal Christina Ramsey started off the evening with the McClain Scholarship, which included award winners Alex Bookheimer, Eric Broadwater, Dillen Burger, Kolby Buterbaugh, Samantha Clippinger, Latisha Eichelberger, Dylan Gelvin, Ariel Hall, Stefanie Jenkins, Nathan Karczewski, Tyler Keller, Andrew King, Joseph Martz, Kaylyn Moore, Jesse Newman, Raven Whitman and Paul Wilt.

The FCCLA Award and the Sandy Run Landfill Outstanding Student Award were presented to Stefanie Jenkins, while Andrew King, Kaylyn Moore, Dylan Gelvin and Tyler Keller were given the McLaughlin Scholarship.

Kolby Buterbaugh and Amber Bookheimer took home the Imagine America Scholarship, and Buterbaugh also was awarded the Kaplan Scholarship, the Community State Bank Scholarship and VFW Scholarship. Buterbaugh, along with Tyler Keller, was presented with the Clair and Dorothy Miller Foundation Scholarship. Keller also cinched the Horatio Alger Scholarship.

Classmates Dylan Gelvin, Stefanie Jenkins, Nathan Karczewski, Tyler Keller and Andrew King were the winners of the Hustontown Area Volunteer Fire Co. Scholarship, and Gelvin and Jenkins went on to receive the Ben Knepper Scholarship. In addition, Gelvin, Jenkins and Andrew King were the recipients of the Alumni Association Scholarship.

Tyler Keller and Alex Bookheimer were selected to win the Lions Club Award, and Dylan Gelvin took home the Beta Sigma Phi Award and was also chosen as one of four students to receive the Joshua T. Wilt Jr. Scholarship. Additional recipients included Raven Whitman, Tyler Keller and Stefanie Jenkins.

Amber Bookheimer, Angela Crebbs and Hope Everts rounded out the evening as winners of the Sara Stratton Scholarship.

The 29 members of the Forbes Road Class of 2010 were presented their diplomas by acting Superintendent Fred Foster and Board of School Directors President Terry Brant. Musical selections for the evening were provided by the Forbes Road junior/ senior high band under the direction of Philip Debski.

Return to top