2010-06-03 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

The fourth annual Keystone Cup Sprint Series is now history and Daryn Pittman, and the Heffner Racing enterprises team dominated the week to bring home the championship.

Pittman had three feature wins, a runner-up and a fifthplace finish to total 785 points to capture the title over Tyler Walker (614), Stevie Smith (571), Lance Dewease (548) and Fred Rahmer (501).

Keystone Cup kicked off last Wednesday at Grandview Speedway, where Tyler Walker took the 35-lap win over Greg Hodnett, Lance Dewease, Fred Rahmer and Daryn Pittman.

Action moved to Hagerstown Speedway on Thursday night, where Daryn Pittman came out on top of the 30-lap event after a late race pass of Brian Leppo, who finished second over Alan Krimes, Stevie Smith and Fred Rahmer.

Williams Grove Speedway canceled its Friday night Keystone Cup due to the threat of rain that never happened.

Keystone Cup continued Saturday at Lincoln Speedway, where Pittman came out on top of a thrilling 30-lap feature taking the win over Brian Montieth, Aaron Ott, Tyler Walker and Lance Dewease.

Pittman continued his hot streak Sunday at Selinsgrove Speedway, where he used a final lap restart to drive by leader Stevie Smith and win for the third straight night. Smith, Lance Dewease, Fred Rahmer and Pat Cannon were the top five.

Mike Erdley ended Speedweek with a win Monday night at Port Royal Speedway over Daryn Pittman, Todd Shaffer, Greg Hodnett and Lance Dewease. Mike Wagner was in a crash and paid for 20th.

Jack Pencil’s dream came true Saturday night at Hagerstown Speedway as he raced to his first-ever Late Model win at the track, and it came after a great battle with Jason Covert. Pencil won the 35-lap Three State Flyers main after exchanging the lead several times with Covert, who finished second over Frankie Plessinger, Gary Stuhler, DJ Myers, Marvin Winters, Matt Parks, Nick Dickson, JT Spence and Roy Deese Jr.

Scott Palmer won for the first since the 2006 racing season as he came out on top of the Late Model Sportsman main over Kyle Lear, Ashley Barrett, Terry Flaherty and Steve Axtell Jr., while Mike Warrenfeltz won the Pure Stock feature over Eddie McClellan, Kenny Dillon, Kevin Boyer and Dave Stouffer Jr.

Pat Cannon won his second 358 Sprint car feature of the year Saturday at Selinsgrove Speedway over Bob Beidleman, Phil Walter, Davie Franek and Mike Walter.

Jeff Rine made Selinsgrove history as he captured his fifth consecutive Late Model feature at the speedway and has yet to be beat this season. Rine also moved into second on the all-time track win list with his 60th career win over Jeff Smith, Dave Zona, Donnie Schick and Matt Cochran.

Rich Eichelberger came from 13 starting spot to win the Super Sportsman feature Saturday at Williams Grove Speedway over Carmen Perigo Jr., Duaine Smith, Paul Miller and Jason Fry.

Eichlberger also won Sunday’s Sportsman feature at Selinsgrove Speedway over Perigo, Herr, Fry and Jay Fannasy.

Craig Wagaman won the Grove’s 358 late model feature over Bobby Beard, DJ Mease, Travis Mease and Duane Harbaugh.

Carl Billet won Saturday’s 358 late model feature at Susquehanna Speedway Park over John Baker, Randy Christine, Jr., John Moser Jr. and Justin Ehrhart.

Mike Bittinger captured his first 358 Sprint car win of the season Friday at Trail- Way Speedway over Randy Whisler, Joe Trone, Jr., Dale Hammaker and Keith Prutzman.

Gene Knaub won the 358 Late Model feature at Trail- Way over Cam Zeigler, Bobby Beard, Carl Billet and Mike Walls.

Bedford Speedway’s World of Outlaws late model event was canceled due to rain.

The WoO Late Models were at West Virginia Motor Speedway over the weekend, where Steve Shaver swept the weekend with wins Saturday and Sunday night. Saturday, he defeated Bart Hartman and Tim Mc- Creadie, while Sunday’s win came over Hartman and Shane Clanton.

That’s a wrap on a busy Memorial Day holiday racing weekend that put us officially into the summer season and the heat shows it! E-mail at Bvores@comcast.net.

Return to top