2010-05-13 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Greg Hodnett came out on top of a wild finish to win Friday night’s Outlaw Tuneup at Williams Grove Speedway.

Hodnett raced past Stevie Smith and Chad Layton on the final lap as the front runners ran low on fuel. A last lap fuel stop gave teams a chance to refuel, but Hodnett was able to stay out front on the final lap for his first Grove win of the season and 43rd career at the track, moving him into fifth place on the all-time win list in just 10 seasons of racing at the track.

Stevie Smith, Layton, Lance Dewease and Brian Montieth were the top five finishers.

Nicole Bower became the first-ever female to win a Sprint car race at the Grove as she won the 358 Sprint car feature after leading all 20 laps over Rich Eichelberger, Cory Haas, Pat Cannon and Glenndon Forsythe.

Adam Wilt captured his first career 410 Sprint car feature win at Lincoln Speedway with an impressive Saturday night effort.

Wilt’s win came over Brent Marks, Gerard McIntyre Jr., Fred Rahmer and Alan Krimes.

Adrian Shaffer won the 358 Sprint car main over Derek Frohlich, Mike Bittinger, Eric Tomecek and Brook Weibley, while Keith Prutzman won his first career 358 Sprint main in the makeup feature from April 24. Prutzman won over Jeff Rohrbaugh, Dale Hammaker, Tim Wagaman and Nicole Bower.

Brad McClelland won his 22nd career 358 Sprint car main Friday at Trail-Way Speedway over Jeff Rohrbaugh, Tim Wagaman, Dale Hammaker and Randy Davis, Jr.

Scott Dellinger became the sixth different Super Sportsman winner this season after winning Saturday at Williams Grove Speedway over Rich Eichelberger, Frankie Herr, Carmen Perigo Jr. and David Socks.

Derek Byler picked up his first career Super Late Model feature win Friday at Bedford Speedway in just his third track start in the division. Byler, a standout in the Limited Late Models for many seasons, won over Matt Parks, DJ Myers, Greg Fetters and Scott Haus.

Gene Knaub won the 358 Late Model Main Saturday at Susquehanna Speedway over Kyle Saylor, Randy Christine Jr., Mike Walls and Justin Ehrhart.

Both Selinsgrove and Port Royal speedways canceled Saturday night racing programs due to the high winds. Port Royal also canceled its Sunday afternoon All-Star program.

Return to top