2010-05-13 / Sports

600 Pro Series Invades Path Valley

By Rob Keller

The 600 Pro Series is a traveling series for the 600cc Micro Sprint racers of central Pennsylvania. The 2010 series consists of 10 events and the third race took place at Path Valley Speedway Friday night.

The 600 Pro Series Amain got the program under way. Twenty-seven racers took the green flag for the 30 lap event. Tyler Walton of Mifflintown, Pa., started on the pole and led the field for the first 14 laps. Mike Dicely started seventh and had moved up to second just before the first caution on Lap 15. On the restart, Dicely drove around Walton for the lead. With about five laps to go, the leaders were working through lapped traffic, and Walton started to narrow Dicely’s lead. Walton went to the extreme low groove, and after several failed attempts, he regained the lead on Lap 29. Walton led Dicely by three car lengths to take the win.

Bryan Neff started second in the Mini Stock feature and grabbed the lead at the drop of the green. Polesitter Dave Freidrich of Greencastle stayed right on Neff’s back bumper, looking for room to pass on the inside almost every lap. Finally on Lap 10 Friedrich found the right combination, passing Neff for the lead in Turn 2. After that Friedrich pulled away, winning the nonstop 20-lap event by nearly a full straightaway. It was Freidrich’s first feature win at Path Valley Speedway, coming in his fifth season of racing. Neff held on to second ahead of Kenny Hill, Ryan Laye and Jeremy Ott.

Sean McAndrew of Apollo, Pa., and Levi Peck started first and second, respectively, in the 270cc Micro Sprint feature. Twenty laps later and they were still in the same positions. It was McAndrew’s second feature win this season. Ryan McAndrew appeared to have a solid third place, until succumbing to mechanical woes on the final lap.

Josh Walstrum of Fannetsburg started second in the 4-Cylinder Thunder Car feature and out-powered polesitter Chip Lawrence for the lead. Tom Crum started fifth and was up to third on Lap Five. Bob Starr was running second when he spun out on lap ten, giving the runner up spot to Crum. Crum tried to pressure Walstrum into a mistake, but Walstrum was flawless the remaining laps for his first win at Path Valley in 2010. Crum finished second, ahead of D.J. Keefer, Justin Rasp and John Rasp. Bill Kennedy and John Rasp collected heat race victories.

The Sidewinder heat race and feature event both told the same story. In both events, Gary Funck started first and led a majority of the event.

Path Valley Speedway returns to action Friday, May 14, with the regular four divisions joined by the PA Sprint Series 305 Sprint Cars and Late Models.

Return to top