2010-04-22 / Local & State

Flag Committee Members Selected

By Chanin Rotz-Mountz STAFF WRITER

Members of the county Flag Committee were appointed this week by the Fulton County commissioners, with one new addition to the annual committee.

Those being approved for appointment on Tuesday were Robert Snyder and John Duffey, Ayr and McConnellsburg Borough; Ray Miller, Belfast; Paul Iden, Bethel; Donald M. Fischer Jr., Brush Creek; Ralph Brown, Dublin; Donald Eisaman, Licking Creek; Clair Traxler, Licking Creek; Ernest Shives, Thompson; Donald Divens, Todd; Homer Stahle, Union; and Jim Sweger, Wells.

As the newest member, Shives, the commissioners added, will be replacing longtime committee member, the late Basil Pittman.

The commissioners noted the flags are currently available for pickup through the Veterans Affairs Office on Wednesday or the remainder of the week at the office of the county business manager.

A proposal from Zody’s United Van Lines in the amount of $1,314.65 was accepted. The company will be responsible to relocate necessary courtroom furniture to the Fulton Theatre for use during the months of May, June and July. The company will also be expected to relocate additional office furniture in preparation for renovations at the Courthouse.

A contract with PSC Environmental Service LLC totalling $3,476.19 was approved for services in connection with the 2010 Household Hazardous Waste, Collection, Treatment and Disposal event.

Tele-Plus has been contracted for a 12-month period to monitor the alarm system at the office of Magisterial District Judge Carol Jean Johnson. The contract is in the amount of $227.40.

Tele-Plus also submitted a quote in the amount of $950, which was accepted by the commissioners, to install cabling and a monitoring device at Judge Johnson’s office. The system is used in conjunction with surveillance equipment to review footage.

A request from Thompson Township to receive liquid fuel funding totalling $2,600 was ap proved as presented.

Eldon Martin, county technology director, met with the commissioners regarding several issues including the possible need for a telephone with speaker capabilities in Fulton Theatre to be used during court days. Martin also touched on a request for a photocopier for the courtroom.

Chief Tax Assessor Michelle Sowers reminded the commissioners that three buildings located within Fulton Industrial Park are slated to go back on the tax rolls in 2011 after having been participants of the Keystone Opportunity Zone (KOZ) program. The facilities, which will likely need a commercial appraisal, include the former NES building, Fulton Precision and a building occupied by JLG Industries but owned by Palmer’s.

Sowers also reported she is slated to begin field work in early May. The commissioners perused their schedule and finalized what dates they were available to assist Sowers with checking the permitted sites.

Business manager Tim Stanton, who was accompanied by Treasurer Monica Seville, announced a representative from County Commissioners Association of Pennsylvania (CCAP) will be visiting the commissioners next Tuesday at 1 p.m. for an official award presentation for the county winning the Biggest Loser program.

Return to top