2010-04-15 / Local & State

Valley Rural Electric Co-op To Hold Annual Meeting April 16

Valley Rural Electric Cooperative will host its 2010 annual meeting at 7 p.m. April 16 at Mount Union Area High School.

Member registration will begin at 6 p.m. Slides of the co-op’s service territory will be shown from 6:30 to 7 p.m.

The meeting will commence with the singing of the national anthem followed by an invocation by Pastor Mike Dubbs of the Mount Union/Allenport United Methodist Charge.

The order of business will begin with a progress report from Valley REC President and CEO Wayne Miller. His speech will highlight accomplishments and goals of the cooperative and will include information about current energy industry issues. Next, co-op board Chairman James Stauffer will offer his remarks.

The focus will then shift to the nomination and election of three co-op board members. During open nominating procedures in February, the following candidates were selected: District 7 – Incumbent Dave Wright of Needmore, Fulton County, and Alton Hill of Warfordsburg, Fulton County; District 8 – Incumbent Earl Parsons of Blairs Mills, Huntingdon County; and District 9 – Incumbent Cindy Bigelow of Williamsburg, Blair County. The three directors elected at the meeting will represent the entire co-op membership for a three-year term.

The event will conclude with entertainment by barbershop quartet New Found Sound. Children will enjoy a big-screen presentation of Disney/Pixar’s “Up,” refreshments and a presentation by Huntingdon County Dairy Princess Kitty Myers of Shirleysburg.

Registered members at the meeting will receive a $15 credit on their electric bill, an energy-efficient showerhead and an eco-friendly reusable shopping bag. They will also be eligible to win one of two $250 co-op gift certificates.

This year, meeting attendees may bring with them any spent compact fluorescent lightbulbs (compact spirals only, please) and cooperative staff will properly dispose of them. Plus, each family that brings a bulb will receive a free replacement.

Valley REC is a memberowned cooperative that provides electric service to more than 21,000 consumers in eight counties in south-central Pennsylvania, including Bedford, Blair, Centre, Franklin, Fulton, Huntingdon, Juniata and Mifflin.

For more information about the annual meeting, contact Susan Penning, director of member services, at 814-643-2650 or toll free 800- 432-0680.

Return to top