2010-04-08 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

After being disqualified the previous week for not reporting to the scales for post race in, Stevie Smith redeemed himself Friday night as he scored the win in the 25-lap 410 Sprint car feature at Williams Grove Speedway. Smith took the lead with three laps to go, then held off a charge by Greg Hodnett, who came from 19th to finish a close runner-up. Justin Henderson finished third over Adam Wilt and Brian Montieth.

Pat Cannon became the all-time leading winner in the 358 sprint division at the Grove with a win in the 20- lap event. Cannon’s win came over Nate Snyder, Cory Haas, TJ Stutts and Chad Criswell.

Josh Richards kicked off the Hagerstown Speedway Late Model season with a win Saturday night.

Aboard a new Ernie Davis Ford-powered Rocket, Richards backed up his opening night win a year ago with another as he took the lead from Frankie Plessinger on the 16th lap and drove to the win over Plessinger, Jamie Lathroum and with Tyler Hershey getting his best Hagerstown finish since beginning last season as a rookie in fourth and fifth going to Mike Lupfer. Sixth through 10th were JT Spence, Roy Deese Jr., Darryl Hills, Bryan Bernheisel and Jim Bernheisel.

Ashley Barrett came out on top of an exciting Late Model Sportsman feature over Glenn Elliott, Michael Collins, Ryan Walls and Wayne Walls, Jr.

Mike Warrenfeltz was the Pure Stock winner over Wayne Hawbaker, Dave Stouffer, Steve Lowery and Darrin Younker.

Greg Hodnett dominated Saturday night Port Royal Speedway 410 Sprint car action with his first win of the season. Hodnett withstood several late race cautions to score the win over Todd Shaffer, Dave Ely, Justin Henderson and Bobby Breen, with Harrisonville’s Mike Wagner eighth.

Jeff Rine made it two straight in Port Late Model action over Matt Parks, Tim Wilson, Waylon Wagner and Scott Lebarron, while Gregg Foster took the Super Sportsman win over Mike Enders, Bobby Hockenberry, Frankie Herr and Chad Criswell.

Brian Montieth dominated Saturday night’s Spring Championship for 410 Sprints at Lincoln Speedway for his 17th career track win on a night when the track had a chartered Wolf’s Bus Lines bus shuttling people to the track from parking areas a half mile away from the speedway.

Montieth’s win came over Alan Krimes, Stevie Smith, Lance Dewease and Fred Rahmer and was worth $4,000.

Jeff Rohrbaugh won his second straight season opener for the 358 Sprint cars in a flag-to-flag win over Dale Hammaker, Chad Trout, Billy Dietrich and Tim Berkheimer.

Gene Knaub topped the 358 Late Model feature over Mike Walls, Craig Wagaman, Cam Zeigler and Duane Harbaugh.

Blane Heimbach came out on top of a thrilling 30- lap rescheduled Selinsgrove National Open for 358 Sprints Saturday at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Rained out last fall, the event was made up this season as Heimbach and Pat Cannon raced side by side for the final four laps, with Heimbach scored the race winner by a mere 27 of a second over Cannon. TJ Stutts, Jason Shultz and Josh Beard were the top five. Heimbach’s win was his 30th career and worth $3,000.

Trail-Way Speedway opened its 2010 season Friday night as Brad McClelland moved into a tie for first place on the tracks all-time win list after his opening night 358 Sprint car feature win. Mc- Clelland scored his 21st career win over Bill Dietrich, Troy Becker, Tim Wagaman and Keith Prutzman.

NASCAR star Kasey Kahne was in Central PA over the weekend racing at the Grove and Lincoln but unfortunately did not have good results to show for it. He was caught up in crashes, not of his making both Friday and Saturday, but was certainly partly responsible for huge crowds once again at both tracks.

That’s a wrap for another week as we keep our fingers crossed for more beautiful weather this coming weekend for racing! Until next time, e-mail reaches me at Bvores@comcast.net.

Return to top