2010-04-08 / Sports

Dehart Wins At Path Valley

By Rob Keller

Pictured above is Gary Dehart, Super Stock winner at Path Valley Speedway. Pictured above is Gary Dehart, Super Stock winner at Path Valley Speedway. When rain washed-out four features on March 28th the 600cc Micro Sprint feature was rescheduled for April 2. This made for a total of seven features scheduled to be run during that show.

The makeup feature for the 600cc Micro Sprints was the first event of the evening. Unfortunately, it was not one of the more exciting races this division has put on. The running order at the finish was the same as it was at the end of lap one. Tyler Walton of Mifflintown, Pa., led from start-to-finish ahead of Timmie Barrick, Travis Saner and Jim Brookens. Saner won the heat race on March 28.

D.J. Keefer of McConnellsburg, PA passed Justin Rasp on a restart on lap five and held on the remaining 15 laps to capture his first win at Path Valley Speedway in the 4-Cylinder Thunder Car main event. Josh Walstrum was battling with Keefer for the lead on lap eight, but contact between the two turned Walstrum toward the infield, bringing out the caution. Denny Scofield ran second from that point and raced hard with Tom Crum for the runnerup spot. Crum took the spot with one lap to go. At the finish it was Keefer, Crum, Scofield, Tyler Adams and Gary Dehart. Scofield and Dehart were heat race winners.

Mark Watkins of Mc- Connellsburg started second in the PA Sprint Series 305 Sprint feature but promptly spun out on the start, collecting Rodney Westhafer. Watkins used the next 19 laps and four restarts to make his way back to the front of the field. Matt Mountz had led since lap two, but got beat to the bottom groove by Watkins on a restart with one lap remaining and finished second. Mountz’s teammate Joe Smith started 10th and picked his way to the front, finishing third. Tyler Bear recovered from a spin on lap eight to finish fourth, and Rocky Magaro rounded out the top five in his first start at Path Valley with the PA Sprint Series. Heat race wins went to Watkins and Bear.

After an incident collecting three drivers on the initial start the 600cc Micro Sprint feature went nonstop. Jim Brookens of Shippensburg, Pa., started second and took control of the front spot right from the start. With no cautions to slow the field, Brookens stretched out a comfortable lead through midway. Tyler Walton slowly closed the gap over the closing laps and dove across the apron in turn one on the final lap. But the move came up short. At the checkers, it was Brookens leading Walton, Jim Young, Timmie Barrick and Shawn Light. Barrick and Jesse Fitz collected heat wins.

Kyle Wiser of Orbisonia, started on the pole of the Mini Stock feature and led all 20 laps for the win. With Wiser several car lengths in front, the big battle was for second. Mark Grove took second on lap one, but was under pressure the entire 20 laps. Eric Seibert, Bryan Neff, and Leroy Long were all right behind Grove most of the way. Seibert attempted to pass Neff on a restart with one lap to go, but the move did not work and it cost him two spots. At the finish, it was Wiser followed by Grove, Long, Neff, and McConnellsburg’s Gary Dehart. Heat race victories went to Wiser and Seibert.

Sean Good and Ryan McAndrew were running one-two for the first four laps of the 270cc Micro Sprint feature. But after a restart on lap five Good’s car slowed and he pulled to the infield. One lap later Tim Mertz of Lancaster passed McAndrew for the lead and the next lap, McAndrew slowed and also pulled to the infield. Colby Dice started 13th and was up to third when Steve Whary, who was running second, slowed to a stop while the field was under caution on lap 12. Mertz held Dice off the remaining eight laps to take the win. Third through fifth went to Jay Horvath, Brice Stevens and Kameron Morral. McAndrew, Levi Peck, and Daryl Beakler claimed heat wins.

The fans that showed up to see a Late Model race were disappointed when only two cars signed in and the race was cancelled.

Friday, April 9, Path Valley Speedway returns to action with the weekly four divisions along with the Sidewinder Sprints and the Mini Stock makeup feature from March 28.

Return to top