2010-04-01 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

It was brutal cold over the weekend but most racing events pressed on, and several tracks opened for the first time this season.

Friday night was very cold but Williams Grove Speedway was in action, where it was World of Outlaws regular Lucas Wolfe invading the track and taking the $3,600 payday after his eighth-career track win.

Wolfe emerged from a thrilling four-car battle to take the win over Brian Montieth, Fred Rahmer, Daryn Pittman and Greg Hodnett.

The Late Models made their first appearance of the season at the Grove, where it was Jason Covert scoring the 20-lap win over Daryl Hills, Dan Stone, Gary Stuhler and Brian Booze, with Frankie Plessinger finishing ninth.

Brian Leppo ended a long dry spell at Lincoln Speedway on Saturday, winning the 410 Sprint feature in impressive fashion. His last win at the track came during the 2006 season. Leppo took the win over Adam Wilt, Stevie Smith, Alan Krimes and Brian Montieth.

The Super Sportsman were in action at Lincoln, where it was defending champion Carmen Perigo Jr. taking the win over Gregg Foster, Scott Dellinger, Leroy Martin and Dave Socks.

TJ Stutts opened Selinsgrove Speedway’s 358 Sprint car season in victory lane as he rolled to the win over Blane Heimbach, Davie Franek, Nate Snyder and Phil Walter.

Port Royal Speedway opened gates for the first time in 2010 on Saturday night as Rick Lafferty was the 410 Sprint car winner over Daryn Pittman, Chad Layton, Cliff Brian and Curt Michael. Harrisonville’s Mike Wagner was running in the second spot with several laps to go when mechanical problems sent him to the pits.

Jeff Rine won Port’s Late Model feature over Tim Wilson, Nick Dickson, Dan Stone and Steve Campbell, with Tyler Hershey 15th.

Tyler Bear won the PA 305 Sprint series event over Harrisonville’s Logan Wagner, who flew up from Florida to race. McConnellsburg’s Mark Watkins was third over Brook Weibley and Erin Statler, with Michael Wagner finishing seventh.

Billy Decker won the Super DIRT Series opener Saturday at Hagerstown Speedway over Matt Sheppard, Michael Storms, Danny Johnson and Billy Dunn, while Brett Hearn won the 358 Modified Octoberfest Qualifier over Sheppard, Stewart Friesen, Pat Ward and Rick Laubach.

York’s Rick Eckert picked up the World of Outlaws Late Model win Friday night at Battleground Speedway in Texas. It was Eckert’s first win since forming his own team sponsored by J&K Salvage and York Excavating. Steve Francis won the Saturday night event at Lone Star Speedway. Josh Richards continues to lead the WoO points.

Loving the sounds of the upcoming Easter weekend forecast, so hopefully fans will be treated to great weather for Friday and Saturday races and then everyone will have a great Easter Sunday. So until next week, e-mail me at Bvores@comcast.net. Happy Easter everyone!

Return to top