2010-04-01 / Sports

Peck And Adams Take Path Valley Wins

By Rob Keller

Unusually cold air temperatures Friday caused Path Valley Speedway to postpone racing until Sunday afternoon. The weather forecast called for 50 percent chance of rain after 5:00 p.m. Unfortunately, the forecast was wrong.

Daryl Beakler started on the outside of the front row for the 270cc Micro Sprint feature and grabbed the lead at the drop of the green flag. Colby Dice moved from fourth to second on the opening lap and slipped past Beakler by Lap 3 to take the lead. Levi Peck passed Beakler for second on lap five. Dice kept Peck about two car lengths back until Lap 15. Peck began to slowly close the gap and on Lap 17 Peck drove to the inside of Dice in turn two, which proved to be the winning pass. Steve Whary passed Dice as they took the white flag and finished second. Dice held on to third, ahead of Beakler and Dan Beshore. Peck also won the heat race.

Tyler Adams started on the pole and led the entire 4- Cylinder Thunder Car feature. Jeremy Ott started second and was pressuring Adams from start to finish. Tom Crum charged from his 12th place starting spot to finish third. Denny Scofield and D.J. Keefer battled most of the race, finishing fourth and fifth, respectively. On Lap 18 Randy Stull spun out, bringing out the caution. During that caution period the rain, which had been falling lightly, started to come down harder, making the track slippery and unsafe to race. The officials decided to throw the checkered flag and call the race official at that time. Heat race wins went to Crum and Adams.

The features that were rained out will be made up as follows: 600cc Micro Sprint on April 2, Super Stock on April 3, Mini Stock on April 9, and Legend Cars on April 23.

On Friday, April 2, the PASS 305 Sprints and the Late Models will be making their first appearance of 2010 along with the weekly four divisions and the 600cc Micro Sprint makeup feature.

Path Valley results for 3-28

270cc Micro Sprint: Levi Peck, Steve Whary, Colby Dice, Daryl Beakler, Dan Beshore, Aaron Lynch, Nate Heindel Heat: Peck

4-Cylinder Thunder Car: Tyler Adams, Jeremy Ott, Tom Crum, Denny Scofield, D.J. Keefer, Bill Kennedy, Bob Starr, Andy Stouffer, Mike Fuller, John Rasp, Randy Stull, Eric Grubb, James Truax, Josh Walstrum, Sam Rock Jr., Chip Lawrence, Justin Rasp, Raymond Middaugh DNS: Joe Walker Heats: Crum, Adams

All other features were postponed due to rain and will be made-up on the following dates: 600cc Micro Sprint on April 2; Super Stock on April 3; Mini Stock on April 9; Legend Cars on April 23.

Return to top