2010-02-04 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

The first Sprint car racing of the 2010 season got under way over the weekend at Ocala Speedway in Florida as the O’Reilly All-Star Circuit of Champions kicked off its 2010 season.

And when the dust settled on the 25-lap feature, it was World of Outlaws regular Danny Lasoski taking the victory aboard the Casey’s General Stores No. 6 Sprinter. Lasoski inherited the lead on the final lap when leaders Brad Sweet and Cale Conley crashed each other, turning the lead and the win over to the Dude.

Lasoski took the win over Tim Shaffer, Dale Blaney, Pennsylvania’s Fred Rahmer and Tim Kaeding. Stevie Smith finished 10th, Doug Esh 13th, Mark Smith 16th, Daryn Pittman 17th and Greg Hodnett 18th after being spun out on the start by Terry McCarl. Lance Dewease failed to qualify.

Saturday night racing at Ocala was rained out.

The All-Stars move to Volusia Speedway Park for Wednesday and Thursday action this week, followed by World of Outlaws action Friday through Sunday.

The World of Outlaws made some big news last week after announcing that its races will now see side-by-side restarts for the 2010 season. No more front stretch cone and nose-to-tail lineups as the WoO will try to make racing more exciting for the fans. The leader will choose which lane he wants on a restart, with the second-place driver filling out the front row, which no doubt will change the complexion of many races.

Also, there will be no more pill draws for Dashes on the Outlaw tour. The Dash lineup will be set by the drivers time trial lap. And speaking of time trials, all events will have two time trial laps for all cars, no matter what the car count is. Time trials will mean more this year with the Outlaws.

The local season is getting closer as we’ve moved into February with openers slated at Lincoln and Hagerstown Speedway’s for Saturday, Febuary 27 with the following day reserved as a raindate.

E-mail Bvores@comcast.net.

Return to top