2010-01-28 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

The 2010 racing season will get under way this week in Florida as the All-Star Circuit of Champion Sprints invades Ocala Raceway for two nights of action on Friday and Saturday. It will be the first time in many years that all 410 Sprint cars will be on Goodyear tires, and it should make for some better racing, according to drivers.

Following the two nights at Ocala, the All-Stars head to the Volusia Speedway Park for next Wednesday and Thursday night action, followed by three straight nights of World of Outlaw-sanctioned events at VSP, wrapping up on Sunday, February 7. Following VSP, the All-Stars then head to Tampa for three nights of action at East Bay Raceway Park beginning on Thursday, February 11. Many central PA teams will be in Florida to kick off the season.

Local fans will be able to catch VSP action online at www.dirtvision.com, but I’m not sure if Ocala and East Bay will be broadcast online.

There will also be plenty of Late Model and Modified racing going on in Florida over the next three weeks.

It won’t be long until we are racing here in the midstate as Lincoln and Hagerstown Speedway have season-openers slated for Saturday, February 27, with a Sunday raindate.

Other season-openers in the area include Port Royal Speedway on Sunday, March 14, Williams Grove on Friday, March 19, Path Valley on March 19, Selinsgrove on March 19 , Winchester on March 27, Trail-Way on April 2, Susquehanna on April 10 and the URC Sprint Series on April 10.

The 358 Sprint Car Series will have some added incentive this season for its season long point chase. So far, nearly $2,000 in cash prizes, along with much more in product support, has been offered up for the top point finishers at the end of the season. Sponsorship has been secured from PAPosseracing.com, Panchos Racing Products, Aero Wings, Kens Jewelry and Coin, Bill Burkholder, Hoseheads.com, Wings Unlimited, WRTSpeedwerx, Delco Signs and Guss Radle and the Military Collector Shop. All 358 races at all area tracks count towards the season points. Jeff Rohrbaugh was the 2009 champion.

Until next week, e-mail reaches me at Bvores@comcast.net.

Return to top