2010-01-21 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

The 2009 Sprint Car Polls were released last week by the National Sprint Car Poll voting panel, and to no one’s surprise, Donny Schatz remained at the top of the 410 Sprint car poll for a fourth straight season.

Schatz, the World of Outlaws champion for the past four years, gained 22 first place votes to land at the top by an easy margin.

Joey Saldana, the leading winner last season, finished second after getting seven firstplace votes with WoO points runner up Jason Meyers getting one first-place vote and finishing third in the final poll. Steve Kinser is a mainstay in the top five at fourth with all-star champ Tim Shaffer fifth.

Pennsylvania’s Greg Hodnett came in sixth in the final rankings after his great season that included three WoO wins at Williams Grove. Danny Lasoski, Jason Sides, Stevie Smith and Terry McCarl were the top 10. Other drivers of interest in the final poll were Cody Darrah 15th, Fred Rahmer 16th ,Todd Shaffer, Brian Montieth 21st and Daryn Pittman 25th.

York’s Adam Wilt was named the 2009 National 410 Sprint Rookie of the Year, while Saldana won the “Wild Card” award for his exciting performances last season. Kasey Kahne won the Outstanding Contribution to the Sport Award.

Shane Stewart topped the National 360 Sprint Car Poll after his ASCS National Championship in 2009. Stewart came out on top of Jason Johnson, Gary Wright, Tim Crawley, Roger Crockett, Travis Rilat, Jesse Hockett, URC champion JJ Graoss, Tony Bruce Jr. and Terry Gray.

Levi Jones topped the Non Wing Sprint Car Poll over Bryan Clauson, Cole Whitt, Dave Darland and Jon Stanbrough.

The National Sprint Car Hall of Fame announced its 2010 HoF inductees, and they include Pennsylvania’s Bobbie Adamson, Hank Arnold, Fred Linder, Frank Riddle, Hal Robson and Herman Schurch in the driver category. They will be inducted in June.

Tyler Walker will race a 30- race schedule in 2010 for Heffner Racing Enterprises, a team that Keith Kauffman gave its first career 410 Sprint car win in August at Port Royal Speedway. Kauffman was a front runner for the job but walker was the better fit for this team. E-mail reaches me at Bvores@comcast.net.

Return to top