2010-01-21 / Local & State

Forbes Road Board Votes To Limit Any 2010-2011 Tax Increases

Conducts other routine business

The Forbes Road School Board voted to limit any tax increases for the 2010-2011 school year, made personnel decisions and conducted routine business at its regular meeting last Monday evening.

Board members Teressa Bard, Carl Detwiler, Deonna Carmack, Chanin Rotz-Mountz, Terry Brant, Stacie Keller and Kirby Shoemaker attended the regular meeting, where they adopted a resolution stating that they will not raise the rate of any tax for the support of the district for 2010-2011 fiscal year by more than its index of 4.2 percent or a maximum millage increase of 1.41.

In other financial business, the board adopted a resolution to authorize board officers to undertake necessary actions relating to the issuance of the 2010 bonds as presented. The motion passed on a 6-1 vote, with Kirby Shoemaker casting the lone dissenting vote.

Board members accepted Philip Debski’s letter of retirement. The band/chorus director’s retirement will be effective at the end of the school year.

The board approved the addition of Kasey Kuhns, Megan Senft, Cherina Strait to the teacher substitute list as well as Chelsea Hockenberry, April Leese and Heidi McCardell (RN). All are Intermediate Unit certified.

Megan Senft was hired as a long-term substitute during Mrs. Gabrielson’s leave, and a leave request was approved for Christie Daniels.

Steve Daniels was approved as a backup for snow removal at a rate of $55 per hour.

Tammy Mong, Harrisonville, was approved as a substitute van driver for Tawnie House. It was determined that Mong has her required clearances.

The board also held a 20- minute executive session to discuss personnel issues.

During other business, Superintendent Fred Foster presented a Keystone Achievement award to elementary Principal Byron Helsel in recognition of two years of adequate yearly progress (AYP), as reported by the state department of education.

Helsel reported that Red Bird registration will be held on February 24, 25, and kindergarten registration will be held on March 2.

Area Vocational Technical School Director Elizabeth Cheatle invited all board members to tour the AVTS facility on January 29.

Other routine business conducted included: the approval of a replacement van for Tawnie House as presented; the approval of a request for a used book fair as presented by Mark Schilajew; the approval of a field trip for fifth-grade students for a songfest in Boalsburg on March 26; and the approval of a request from Mrs. Lutz to compete in the Sideling Hill Spirit League cheerleading competition on March 6 at Everett High School. The request was to add an elementary competition squad this year as well as the JV and varsity squads.

Art teacher Lisa Black appeared before the board with Forbes Road Lions Club members to announce peace poster contest winners from the sixthgrade competition. The winners are first place, Ashley Leis; second place, Tiffany Seville; and third place, Dustin Stoey.

During the public comment period, bus contractor Rick Bolinger requested an annual meeting for bus contractors.

The next regular board meeting is scheduled for February 1 at 7:00 p.m.

Return to top